John L. "Jack" Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration

The John L. "Jack" Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration recognizes extraordinary accomplishment by a company, space agency or corsortium of organizations in the realm of space exploration and disccovery. The award honors the memory of astronaut John L. 'Jack' Swigert, Jr., one of the inspirations for creating the Space Foundation.

A Colorado native, Swigert served with retired U.S. Navy Captain James A. Lovell, Jr., and Fred Haise on the legendary Apollo 13 lunar mission, which was aborted after the perilous rupture of an oxygen tank en route to the Moon. People around the world watched as NASA overcame tremendous odds to return the crew safely to Earth. The Jack Swigert Award is presented annually at the Space Symposium.


2015 Rosetta Comet Exploration Team
2014  No award
2013 NASA Mars Science Laboratory Mission Team
2012 NASA Kepler Mission
2011 No award
2010 The Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite (LCROSS) Mission Team
2009 NASA's Phoenix Mars Lander Team
2008 Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency
2007 The California Institute of Technology
2006 NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory
2005 NASA's Mars Exploration Team from JPL NASA Mars Science Laboratory Mission Team