Space Technology Hall of Fame

The Space Technology Hall of Fame® honors world class technology and those who transform technology originally developed for space exploration into products that help improve the quality of life here on Earth. Induction into the Space Technology Hall of Fame affords space innovators much deserved recognition, increases public awareness and encourages further innovation.

2014 Inductees

  • Cospas-Sarsat Global Satellite System, a global, satellite-based search-and-rescue system that is operated and managed by more than 40 countries
  • NeuroArm technologies, an image-guided MR-compatible robot for microsurgery that combines precision robotics with the capacity of the human mind

Both technologies were originally developed for space applications and have now been modified for products and services used on Earth.

Also recognized are individuals and organizations for their roles in developing and adapting the technologies for commercial use.

2014 Individual Inductees
The following individuals are being inducted into the Space Technology Hall of Fame in 2014:


  • Steve Lett, Head of the Secretariat, International Cospas-Sarsat Programme


  • Garnette Sutherland, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Calgary

2014 Organizational Inductees

  • International Cospas-Sarsat Programme
  • University of Calgary, Faculty of Medicine (Project NeuroArm)
  • Canadian Space Agency
  • MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

 Three Events Honored Inductees

Three events at the Space Symposium honored the inductees on May 22:

  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame Private Induction Ceremony, co-sponsored by AGI
  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame Cocktail Reception, co-sponsored by EaglePicher Technologies, LLC
  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame Dinner, co-sponsored by SpaceX

Featured speaker for the dinner was John M. Grunsfeld, Ph.D.,Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

About Nomination and Judging

Each year, the Space Technology Hall of Fame solicits nominations from the industry and the public. After a thorough review process that establishes whether the technologies did, indeed, have their origins in space exploration and/or research, the qualifying technologies are reviewed and ranked by a distinguished panel of judges.

The 2014 panel of judges included:

  • Lt. Gen. Larry D. James, USAF, (Ret.), Deputy Director, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Shogo Kitahara, President, Japan Space Forum
  • Dr. Ekkehard Kührt, Department Head, German Aerospace Center, Institute of Planetary Research
  • Joe Sheehan, President, Analytical Graphics, Inc.
  • Kirk A. Shireman, Deputy Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
  • Dr. Anthony J. Tether, Senior Strategic Advisor, Zero Gravity Solutions
  • Christopher Vasko, Co-Chairperson, Space Generation Advisory Council

Nomination Process for 2015

The deadline to submit nominations for induction during 2015 will be August 22, 2014.  Anyone may submit a nomination of a technology that was developed anywhere in the world for use in space and then modified or adopted for use on Earth. Nomination information, including online and downloadable nomination forms, is available at

The Space Foundation established the Space Technology Hall of Fame in 1988 to increase public awareness of the benefits that result from space exploration programs and to encourage further innovation. Additional information about the Space Technology Hall of Fame, including a complete list of inducted technologies, is available at