Search form

Media

These news clips on global space news are provided by the Coalition for Space Exploration for distribution by the Space Foundation to our constituents. You can also subscribe to receive a daily email version.

Global Space News

 

NASA Mercury 7 astronaut Scott Carpenter, who in May 1962 became the second American to orbit the Earth, died Thursday. Carpenter, 88, was hospitalized in his home state of Colorado after suffering a stroke in September.

Scott Carpenter, second U. S. astronaut to orbit the Earth. Photo Credit/NASA

The multi-dimensional Carpenter launched into space only once on a  three...

Image Courtesy NASA/JPL-Caltech/SwRI

On Oct. 9, NASA’s Juno spacecraft will fly past the Earth for a gravity-assist boost that will slingshot the probe onward to Jupiter, the largest planet in our solar system.

The time of closest approach is 3:21 p.m. EDT (12:21 p.m. PDT / 19:21 UTC) when Juno will pass about 350 miles over South Africa.

“While we are primarily using Earth as a means to get...

NASA's LADEE reached lunar orbit. Credit: NASA/GSFC

NASA’s Lunar Atmosphere and Dust Environment Explorer (LADEE) achieved lunar orbit on Oct. 6.

Thanks to two High Performance...

Pictured is the central peak of Bullialdus rising above the crater floor with the crater wall in the background. Image Credit: NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

The Earth’s moon is taking on more of a wet look.

Scientists have detected “magmatic water” on the surface of the Moon...

Pages

Live Sun Image
 
X

Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Share on Facebook Tweet This Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:

X

Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.