Space Foundation Press Releases

"Star Trek" Creators to be recognized at National Space Symposium

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 19, 2002) — `Star Trek ` creators the late Gene Roddenberry and Majel Barrett Roddenberry have been selected as the recipients of this year’s Space Foundation Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award. The award will be presented April 8 during the National Space Symposium’s Opening Ceremony. Eugene Wesley “Rod” Roddenberry, Jr. will attend the ceremony and accept the award on behalf of his parents. The Space Foundation salutes the Roddenberrys for the vision and creative inspiration that made possible the science fiction of “Star Trek” through which millions have developed an affinity for the beauty, wonder and possibilities of space exploration; and for enduring support of real-world space exploration and development as evidenced by personal commitment to NASA and other champions of the final frontier. Gene Roddenberry’s legacy remains as “Star Trek: The Next Generation” continues to succeed in theaters, and three television series based on “Star Trek.” “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine,” “Star Trek: Voyager” and most recently “Star Trek: Enterprise” maintain Roddenberry’s vision of the future. In addition to appearing in films and theater productions, Majel Barrett Roddenberry has also played a number of “Star Trek” roles that Roddenberry created for her, including the nurse in the original series; the voice of the Federation Computer, a role she still plays today in the “Star Trek: Next Generation” movies and on “Voyager” and “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine;” and Lwaxana Troi on “Star Trek: Next Generation” and in the spin-off series, “Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.” Majel is currently executive producer of and plays a small reoccurring role as Dr. Belman in the “Battleground Earth” series, a pilot and format that Gene developed in the mid-1970’s. Continuing Roddenberry’s love of space, Majel sits on the board of governors for the National Space Society. Each year, the Space Foundation presents its Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award to an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to public awareness of space programs. The award honors the memory of the late Doug Morrow, former Foundation Board Member and renowned Academy Award winning writer and producer. Previous recipients include Popular Science magazine, Space Shuttle Mission STS-95, NASA’s JPL Mars Pathfinder Team, and the “Cable News Network.” The symposium, which gathers top space leaders from industry, the military and government, takes place April 8-11 in Colorado Springs. Preliminary symposium program information and on-line registration are available at or by calling 1-800-691-4000.