Space Foundation Press Releases

Space Foundation Honors The Astronauts Memorial Foundation, U.S. Launch Teams, and Space Artist Bob McCall at 19th National Space Symposium

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.(Mar. 17, 2003) — The Space Foundation announced today the 2003 winners of its three premier annual achievement awards:

  • The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award will be presented to legendary space artist Robert T. McCall.
  • The Space Foundation Space Achievement Award will be presented to the United States Air Force, The Boeing Company and Lockheed Martin Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) teams.
  • The Space Foundation Education Achievement Award will be presented to the Astronauts Memorial Foundation.

The Space Foundation will present the awards April 7 during the opening ceremony of the 19th National Space Symposium, held April 7-10 at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs. The National Space Symposium is the only space-related conference to fully integrate all sectors of space – commercial, civil and national security – while attracting the most important and influential speakers and the national leadership of the space industry. More than 4,000 industry leaders and representatives are expected to participate at the conference. The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award is presented to Robert T. McCall for his work as the world’s preeminent space artist. For decades McCall has captured the excitement and wonder of space exploration, the potential of space for all humanity and the future that space may hold for all; through his work he has expressed his enduring support of real-world space exploration and development, as evidenced by his personal commitment to NASA, the Space Foundation and the space industry. The Space Foundation annually presents the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award in memory of the late Douglas S. Morrow, renowned Academy Award winning writer and producer, space advocate, and former Space Foundation Director, to an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to public awareness of space programs. Previous Morrow Award recipients include the late Gene Roddenberry and Majel Barrett Roddenberry, Popular Science magazine, the crew of Space Shuttle Mission STS-95, and NASA’s JPL Mars Pathfinder Team. The Space Foundation Space Achievement Award is presented to the U.S. Air Force, Lockheed Martin, and The Boeing Company EELV teams for the successful design, development, test and first flight of the Atlas V and Delta IV launch vehicles, resulting in significant new space launch capabilities to serve the civil, commercial and national security space interest of the United States of America. The Space Foundation annually recognizes an individual or organization that has demonstrated space achievement, breakthrough space technology, or program or product success deemed to represent a critical milestone in the evolution of space exploration and development. Previous recipients of the Space Achievement Award include the NASA/Industry Galileo Space Probe Team and the men and women of U.S. Space Command and its component organizations, the Hubble Space Telescope Team, Sea Launch, the NASA/Boeing International Space Station Team, and General Thomas S. Moorman Jr. The Space Foundation Education Achievement Award is presented to The Astronauts Memorial Foundation for its outstanding leadership and achievement in the development, implementation and support of a wide variety of effective space-inspired and space-based education programs. The Space Foundation annually presents the Education Achievement Award to organizations that demonstrate involvement in exemplary education initiatives for the purpose of motivating young people to excel in space-based education. Previous recipients include Civil Air Patrol, Lockheed Martin’s Space Day Program, Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center, Challenger Center, Lowell Observatory and NASA. The 19th National Space Symposium’s opening ceremony is co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman Corporation; the exhibit center is sponsored by The Boeing Company; the media center and Space Career Fair for College Students Luncheon are both sponsored by Lockheed Martin Corporation; the 15th Anniversary Space Technology Hall of Fame Awards Dinner is co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman; the Corporate Partnership Dinner is co-sponsored by Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; and the cyberspace center is sponsored by Oracle Corporation. Additional sponsors include Analytical Graphics, Inc., BAE Systems, Computer Sciences Corporation, Eastman Kodak Company, General Dynamics, Harris Corporation, Holland and Hart, Infinite Links, Iridium, ITT Industries, ManTech, MicroSat Systems, Inc., Penwal Industries, Red Canyon Software, Inc., Space News/, SpaceVest, Stellar Solutions and Veridian. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Space Foundation and its partnering organizations will conduct the American Space Showcase at the Paris Air Show, June 15-22, 2003; and the International Space Symposium, Oct. 28-30, 2003, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C. For more information on the Space Foundation visit