Space Foundation Press Releases

Space Foundation Names Dr. Junichiro Kawaguchi Recipient of 2012 Space Achievement Award

Written by: developer

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 13, 2012) -- The Space Foundation has chosen Junichiro Kawaguchi, Ph.D., Senior Fellow at Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), who was program director, Lunar & Planetary Exploration Program Group for JAXA, to receive the 2012 Space Achievement Award.

The Space Foundation bestows this honor annually in recognition of extraordinary accomplishments in space. Kawaguchi is being lauded for his engagement in planetary robotic exploration, science and technology since the late 1970s, including development and advancement of a series of orbital maneuvering technologies applied to planetary missions.

"Dr. Kawaguchi's work has had major impact on several levels, including creating innovative flight strategies while at the same time enhancing public understanding the importance of space exploration," said Space Foundation CEO Elliot Pulham.

The award will be presented during the opening ceremony of the 28th National Space Symposium on April 16 at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo.

About Kawaguchi
Kawaguchi's major accomplishments include:

  • Developing a maneuvering technique that leverages tidal force with the gravitational pull of the Moon and the Earth
  • Restoring JAXA's  Martian space probe Nozomi by devising an alternative trajectory using double Earth swingbys
  • Serving as project manager on the Hayabusa project, the world's first sample-and-return mission from an asteroid, accomplished in 2010

Kawaguchi is currently Senior Fellow at JAXA. He has been, at the same time, a professor at the University of Tokyo, author of numerous books and articles, has presented keynote speeches and appeared on TV.

About the Award
The Space Foundation annually presents the Space Achievement Award to an individual or organization for significant contributions in advancing the exploration, development or utilization of space. Previous recipients include: the Hubble Space Telescope Repair Mission team; China's Shenzhou 7 Manned Space Flight Team; the United States Air Force; Bigelow Aerospace; the U.S. Titan Launch Vehicle Team; the Inertial Upper Stage Team; the SpaceShipOne Team; the Ariane 4 Launch Team; the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle Teams; the NASA/Industry Galileo Space Probe Team; the men and women of United States Space Command and its component organizations; the Hubble Space Telescope Team; Sea Launch; NASA-Boeing International Space Station Team; Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF, Ret.; Capt. James A Lovell, Jr., USN, Ret.; the American Astronautical Society; Air University; and in 2011, SpaceX and Télécoms Sans Frontières.

About the 28th National Space Symposium
The Symposium features more than 100 speakers from every facet of the global space community, beginning with opening comments by Neil deGrasse Tyson, Ph.D. The four-day event will also offer special programs for young space professionals, concluding with the "Reception In Celebration of New Generation Space Leaders," which is open to all attendees.

The Symposium is offered in conjunction Cyber 1.2, a separate Space Foundation event focusing on cyberspace policy issues affecting industry and government, which will be held during the day on April 16 immediately preceding the opening ceremony of the 28th National Space Symposium. Secure online registration for both the Symposium and for Cyber 1.2 can be found at, which includes a live chat tab for customer service questions. An Early Bird registration rate is available until March 16.

28th National Space Symposium and Cyber 1.2 Co-Sponsors
Confirmed co-sponsors include: a.i. solutionsAIAA; Analytical Graphics, Inc. (AGI); ARES CorporationArianespace, Inc.; ATKBall Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; Blue Ridge Networks; The Boeing CompanyBooz Allen Hamilton; Cisco Systems, Inc.; DyneticsEuroconsultFluor; GMV USAGeneral Dynamics; Government ExecutiveIntelsat General CorporationInternational Space University (ISU); Lockheed Martin; Maui Economic Development Board (MEDB); Moog; Northrop GrummanParadigm Secure CommunicationsPratt & Whitney Rocketdyne; Raytheon; SES Government Solutions; Sherman & Howard L.L.C.; Space Generation Advisory Council; Space Systems/Loral; SpaceX; Stellar SolutionsUnited Launch Alliance (ULA). Official media partners include Aviation WeekSatNews Publishers and Space News. Sponsorship information can be found at:

About the Space Foundation
The foremost advocate for the space industry and an expert in all aspects of space, the Space Foundation is a global, nonprofit leader in space awareness, educational programs that bring space into the classroom and major industry events, including the National Space Symposium, all in support of its mission "to advance space-related endeavors to inspire, enable and propel humanity." The Space Foundation publishes The Space Report: The Authoritative Guide to Global Space Activity and provides three indexes that track daily performance of the space industry. Through its Space Certification and Space Technology Hall of Fame® programs, the Space Foundation recognizes space-based technologies and innovations that have been adapted to improve life on Earth. Founded in 1983 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C., office and has a field office in Houston, Texas. For more information, visit Follow us on FacebookLinkedIn and Twitter, and read about the latest space news and Space Foundation activities in Space Watch.