Space Foundation Press Releases

National Space Council to Receive Space Foundation’s Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 13, 2019) – The reestablishment of the National Space Council in 2017 brought new public attention to the importance of space in the United States. The Council, headed by U.S. Vice President Mike Pence, has fostered dialogue across the space community, improved policy coordination activities, stimulated public interest and given America a coordinating vehicle to advance American leadership in space activities in civil, commercial, research and military affairs.

In recognition of this public awareness, the Space Foundation selected the National Space Council and its Chair, U.S. Vice President Mike Pence to receive the 2019 Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award. The award is presented annually by the Space Foundation to an organization or individual who has made significant contributions to the public awareness and understanding of space programs and technology. It was named for an Academy Award-winning writer and producer, space advocate and early member of the Space Foundation Board of Directors.

President Trump reestablished the National Space Council in June 2017 by an Executive Order and named Vice President Pence its Chairman. The National Space Council was last in operation during the administration of George H.W. Bush from 1989 – 1993 and was first formed during the Eisenhower Administration. The current National Space Council membership includes:

  • Secretary of State
  • Secretary of Defense
  • Secretary of Commerce
  • Secretary of Transportation
  • Secretary of Homeland Security
  • Director of National Intelligence
  • Director of the Office of Budget and Management
  • National Security Advisor
  • Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Homeland Security Advisor
  • Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

The Council is supported by a Users’ Advisory Group made up of former astronauts, aerospace executives, current and former elected officials and retired military leaders, including James Ellis, retired U.S. Navy Admiral, former head of STRATCOM and Director Emeritus of the Space Foundation Board of Directors.

The 2019 Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award will be presented at the Space Foundation’s 35th Space Symposium, to be held at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo. The Space Symposium is attended by thousands of the world’s top space leaders, representing all sectors of the global space community. For information, visit

About the Space Foundation
Founded in 1983, the Space Foundation is a 501(c)(3) and the world’s premier organization to inspire, educate, connect, and advocate on behalf of the global space community. It is a nonprofit leader in space awareness activities, educational programs, and major industry events, including the annual Space Symposium. Space Foundation headquarters is in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA, and has a public Discovery Center, including El Pomar Space Gallery, Northrop Grumman Science Center featuring Science On a Sphere® and the Lockheed Martin Space Education Center. The Space Foundation has a Washington, D.C., office and field representatives in Houston and the Florida Space Coast. It publishes The Space Report: The Authoritative Guide to Global Space Activity, and through its Space CertificationTM and Space Technology Hall of Fame® programs, recognizes space-based innovations that have been adapted to improve life on Earth. Visit both of our websites – and – and follow us on FacebookTwitter, Instagram, LinkedIn and YouTube.

# # #

Space Foundation Media Contact:

Carol Hively, Director Public Relations & Team Communications

[email protected]