Search form

Space Watch

112th Congress Opens with 96 New Members

Congress Committee Chairs Named

112th Congress Opens with 96 New Members Jan. 5 marked the opening of the 112th Congress, which welcomed 96 new members to the House of Representatives and 16 to the Senate.

Florida's 24th district, home to NASA's Kennedy Space Center, is now represented by Rep. Sandra Adams (R-FL). Also, Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) is Florida's new junior senator. Alabama's 5th district, home to NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center and the Army's missile command at Redstone Arsenal, is now represented by Rep. Morris "Mo" Brooks (R-AL).

Significant committee assigments include:

House Science, Space and Technology Committee, formerly the Science and Technology Committee:
Rep. Ralph M. Hall (R-TX), chair
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), ranking member

House Armed Services Committee:
Rep. Howard "Buck" McKeon (R-CA), chair
Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA), ranking member

House Appropriations Committee:
Rep. Harold "Hal" Rogers (R-KY), chair
Rep. Norman "Norm" Dicks (D-WA), ranking member

House Homeland Security Committee:
Rep. Peter King (R-NY), chair
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS), ranking member

House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence:
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-MI), chair
Rep. C.A. "Dutch" Ruppersberger (D-MD), ranking member

Democrats retained their majority in the Senate and leadership on space-related committees is expected to remain unchanged from the 111th Congress.


Continue reading Space Watch: 

Media Contacts

Carol Hively, Director - Public Relations and Team Communications
[email protected]
HQ: +1.719.576.8000


Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Share on Facebook Tweet This Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:


Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.