Search form

Space Watch

October Nomination Deadlines are Approaching

October is the month to submit nominations for the Space Foundation's most prestigious annual awards. See more about Space Foundation awards and previous winners here.

Nominate for the Hill Award by Oct. 12

Oct. 12 is the deadline to submit nominations for the Space Foundation's highest honor, the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award. The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare or betterment of humankind through exploration, development and use of space, or through use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity.

The award will be presented at a special luncheon on April 10, 2013, during the 29th National Space Symposium, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo.

Any person may nominate a candidate for the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, however, individuals may not nominate themselves. The nomination should be in the form of a letter, not to exceed two pages, addressed to:

Chief Executive Officer Elliot Pulham
Space Foundation
4425 Arrowswest Drive
Colorado Springs, CO 80907

The Space Foundation Board of Directors will make the final selection.

Oct. 31 Deadline for Three Awards

The general public may submit nominations until Oct. 31, 2012, for the following three annual space awards, which will also be presented at the 29th National Space Symposium. Send nominations with details about why the nominee should be considered and contact information for the person submitting the nomination to to [email protected].

The John L. "Jack" Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration
The John L. "Jack" Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration honors astronaut Jack Swigert, a Colorado native who served with retired U.S. Navy Captain James A. Lovell, Jr., and Fred Haise on the legendary Apollo 13 lunar mission, which was aborted en route to the Moon after the perilous rupture of an oxygen tank. The Space Foundation, founded in 1983 in part to honor Swigert's memory, created the Swigert Award in 2004 in tribute to his lasting legacy of space exploration. The award is given to an individual or organization for extraordinary accomplishment in the field of space exploration. To be eligible, the nominee must have either accomplished or completed the activity or completed the analysis of the activity during the 2011-2012 timeframe.

The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award
The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award's namesake was an Academy Award® winning writer and producer, space advocate and Space Foundation Board member.

The award recognizes an individual or organization that has created a positive public environment for space and increased understanding, awareness and interest in space to a significant segment of the general populace, either through a specific activity or a body of work.

The Space Achievement Award
The Space Achievement Award is presented annually to an individual or organization for significant contributions in advancing the development or utilization of space. To be eligible, the nominee must have made a major contribution to space, such as releasing a new technology, significantly improving the performance or capabilities of an existing technology, creating new opportunities for space employment or advancement, or significantly advancing or improving space policy within the 2011-2012 timeframe.

Continue reading Space Watch: 

Media Contacts

Carol Hively, Director - Public Relations and Team Communications
[email protected]
HQ: +1.719.576.8000


Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Share on Facebook Tweet This Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:


Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.