Search form

Space Watch

Three Events at Space Symposium Celebrated 2014 Space Technology Hall of Fame Inductees

In 2014, a global satellite-based search-and-rescue system and an image-guided surgical robot were inducted into the Space Foundation's Space Technology Hall of Fame® on May 22, during the 30th Space Symposium at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs.

The 2014 inductees are:

  • Cospas-Sarsat Global Satellite System, a global, satellite-based search-and-rescue system that is operated and managed by more than 40 countries
  • NeuroArm technologies, an image-guided MR-compatible robot for microsurgery that combines precision robotics with the capacity of the human mind

Three events at the 30th Space Symposium were held to honor the inductees:

  • The by-invitation Space Technology Hall of Fame Private Induction Ceremony, co-sponsored by AGI
  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame Cocktail Reception, co-sponsored by EaglePicher Technologies, LLC
  • The Space Technology Hall of Fame Dinner, co-sponsored by SpaceX

Featured speaker for the dinner was John M. Grunsfeld, Ph.D., Associate Administrator for the Science Mission Directorate, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).

2014 Individual Inductees
The following individuals were inducted into the Space Technology Hall of Fame:


  • Steve Lett, Head of the Secretariat, International Cospas-Sarsat Programme


  • Garnette Sutherland, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery, University of Calgary

2014 Organizational Inductees

  • International Cospas-Sarsat Programme
  • University of Calgary, Faculty of Medicine (Project NeuroArm)
  • Canadian Space Agency
  • MacDonald, Dettwiler and Associates Ltd. (MDA)

About the Judges
The panel of judges who selected the 2014 Space Technology Hall of Fame inductees comprised:

  • Lt. Gen. Larry D. James, USAF, (Ret.), Deputy Director, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
  • Shogo Kitahara, President, Japan Space Forum
  • Dr. Ekkehard Kührt, Department Head, German Aerospace Center, Institute of Planetary Research
  • Joe Sheehan, President, Analytical Graphics, Inc.
  • Kirk A. Shireman, Deputy Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
  • Dr. Anthony J. Tether, Senior Strategic Advisor, Zero Gravity Solutions
  • Christopher Vasko, Co-Chairperson, Space Generation Advisory Council

Learn more about the Space Technology Hall of Fame here.

Continue reading Space Watch: 

Media Contacts

Carol Hively, Director - Public Relations and Team Communications
HQ: +1.719.576.8000


Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Share on Facebook Tweet This Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:


Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.