Search form


Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award: 28th National Space Symposium


The Space Foundation, in partnership with the Astronauts Memorial Foundation (AMF) and NASA, annually presents the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award for outstanding contributions made by K-12 educators or district-level personnel to educational technology. The award recognizes excellence in the development and application of technology in the classroom or to the professional development of teachers. The recipient demonstrates exemplary use of technology either to foster lifelong learners or to make the learning process easier. The Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award is presented annually at the National Space Symposium.

The 2012 recipient is Dr. Cynthia D. Waters, director of aviation for The Aviation Academy at T.W. Andrews High School in High Point, N.C. She is an educator, FAA commercial pilot, flight instructor and member of the North Carolina Airport Economic Development Alliance. Waters uses her experience and contacts to provide the Academy's 140 students with career development opportunities in aviation, engineering and aerospace. Read about Water's accomplishments here.


Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Share on Facebook Tweet This Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:


Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.