Search form


General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award Presentation: 29th National Space Symposium


The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Space Foundation. It is presented annually in honor of its late, long-time chairman, retired U.S. Air Force General James E. Hill, at a special luncheon held during the Space Symposium. The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare or betterment of humankind through the exploration, development and use of space, or the use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity. Nominations are solicited throughout the space industry worldwide, with the Space Foundation's Board of Directors selecting the honoree.

The 2013 co-recipients of the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award are NASA astronauts Neil A. Armstrong and Sally K. Ride, Ph.D., both of whom died in 2012. The award was presented at a special luncheon sponsored by The Boeing Company on April 10 at the 29th National Space Symposium. This is the first time the award has been presented posthumously. Read more about the achievements of Armstrong and Ride here.

Read about the awards presentation here.

2013 Neil Armstrong and Sally Ride, posthumously
2012 Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Ret.)
2011 Dr. Charles Elachi
2010 CAPT John Young, USN (Ret.)
2009 The Honorable Peter B. Teets
2008 Dr. Hans Mark
2007 Dr. Simon Ramo
2006 Dr. Buzz Aldrin
2005 The Honorable Edward C. Aldridge, Jr.
2004 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever, USAF (Ret.)
2003 CAPT James A. Lovell, Jr., USN (Ret.)
2002 Norman R. Augustine


Share This Page

Share this page with friends and bookmark for future reference.

Share on Facebook Tweet This Share on LinkedIn

Additional networks and bookmarking websites:


Give Us Feedback

We want to hear from you! Feel free to send us your comments about this page. General feedback for the Space Foundation is also welcome.