Space Foundation Press Releases

Space Foundation Elects New Officers

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 28, 2002) — The Board of Directors of the Space Foundation has elected William B. `Bill` Tutt to serve as chairman of the board for a two-year term beginning immediately. Tutt, who had previously served as vice chairman, succeeds the Honorable Jaime Oaxaca.

Tutt is a principal in Tutco, chairman emeritus of the Colorado Springs Sports Corporation, chairman of the U.S. Olympic Festival Committee, co-chairman of the Colorado Thirty Group and chairman of the Pikes’ Peak Rodeo Association. A long-time Space Foundation board member, he was formerly president of the Broadmoor Management Co. Tutt also served as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army. He earned a B.S. degree in Hotel Administration from Cornell University.

At its annual meeting, the Space Foundation board also elected John Higginbotham to a two-year term as vice chairman. Higginbotham is chairman of the board of SpaceVest, Inc. Dr. Jaleh Daie, senior advisor for science and
technology at the Center for the Study of the Presidency, a Trustee of the World Affairs Council of Northern California and founder/chairman of the Women
in Science & Technology Alliance, was elected Treasurer. Donovan “Don” Hicks, former Ball Aerospace & Technologies CEO and principal in Cygnus Enterprise Development LLC, was re-elected secretary.

Outgoing chairman Oaxaca, a former Northrop executive, two-term member of the General Advisory Committee on Arms Control, and vice chairman of Coronado Communications, Inc., was elected to serve a special term as chairman of the newly created Space Foundation Endowment Fund, Inc.

Other members of the Space Foundation board are Jim Albaugh, president & CEO, Boeing Space & Communications; Dr. William F. Ballhaus, Jr., president & CEO, The Aerospace Corporation; Dr. Guion S. “Guy” Bluford, Jr., VP & general manager, major programs sector, Northrop Grumman Information Technologies; Lou Dobbs, chairman of the board,; Gen. Howell Estes (USAF-Ret.), Howell Estes & Associates, Inc.; Richard P. MacLeod, Space Foundation President Emeritus; Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr. (USAF-Ret.), partner, Booz-Allen & Hamilton; Dr. Diana Natalicio, president, University of Texas-El Paso; Gen. John L. Piotrowski (USAF-Ret.), vice president, SAIC; Albert E. Smith, executive vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems; and the Honorable Robert S. Walker, chairman & CEO, The Wexler Group and chairman, The Commission on the Future of the U.S. Aerospace Industry. The president & chief executive officer of the Space Foundation is Elliot G. Pulham.

The Space Foundation is well known for its National Space Symposium, held annually at the Broadmoor Hotel. Now in its 18th year, the event is widely regarded as the premier conference for space professionals anywhere in the world, and the only space-related conference to fully integrate all sectors of space – commercial, civil and national security – while attracting the most important and influential speakers and the national leadership of the space industry. This year’s symposium is scheduled April 8-11th. Complete agenda information is available on-line at

The Space Foundation pursues a two-part mission: “To vigorously advance civil, commercial and national security space endeavors for a brighter future, and to passionately provide and support educational excellence through the excitement of space!” More information on the Space Foundation, its programs and members can be found at