Space Foundation annually honors outstanding individuals and organizations for achievements in space exploration, advocacy, education, innovation and accomplishment. Award presentations, held throughout Space Symposium, highlight the best of the best in the industry.

General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award

The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by Space Foundation. It is presented annually in honor of Space Foundation's late, long-time chairman, retired U.S. Air Force General James E. Hill, at a special event held during Space Symposium. The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare or betterment of humankind through the exploration, development and use of space, or the use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity. Nominations are solicited throughout the space industry worldwide, with Space Foundation's Board of Directors selecting the honoree.

Nominations for 2024 are now closed.

General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award

John L. "Jack" Swigert Jr. Award for Space Exploration

Space Foundation was founded in 1983, in part to honor the memory and accomplishments of astronaut John L. "Jack" Swigert Jr. A Colorado native, Swigert served with retired U.S. Navy Captain James A. Lovell Jr. and Fred Haise on the legendary Apollo 13 lunar mission, which was aborted after the perilous rupture of an oxygen tank en route to the Moon. People around the world watched as NASA overcame tremendous odds to return the crew safely to Earth. Space Foundation created the Jack Swigert Award for Space Exploration in 2004 in tribute to his enduring legacy of space exploration. The Jack Swigert Award is presented annually at Space Symposium.

John L. "Jack" Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration

Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award

Space Foundation, in conjunction with the Astronauts Memorial Foundation (AMF) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), annually presents the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award to recognize outstanding contributions to creative and innovative use of technology in education by K-12 educators or district-level education personnel.

The award, which is named after Mercury Astronaut Alan Shepard, honors an educator who has demonstrated a commitment to inspiring students' interest in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). The Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award is presented annually at Space Symposium.

Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award

Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award

Each year, Space Foundation presents the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award in memory of the late Douglas S. Morrow, renowned Academy Award-winning writer and producer, space advocate and former Space Foundation Board Member, to an individual or organization who has made significant contributions to the public awareness of space programs. The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award is presented annually at Space Symposium.

Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award

Space Achievement Award

Space Foundation's Space Achievement Award recognizes individuals or organizations that have demonstrated attainment, breakthrough space technology or program or product success representing critical milestones in the evolution of space exploration and development. The Space Achievement Award is presented annually at Space Symposium.

Space Achievement Award

Space Technology Hall of Fame®

The Space Technology Hall of Fame® honors those who transform technology originally developed for space exploration into products that help improve the quality of life here on Earth. Induction into the Space Technology Hall of Fame® affords space innovators much deserved recognition, increases public awareness and encourages further innovation. Space Foundation established the Space Technology Hall of Fame® in 1988 to increase public awareness of the benefits that result from space exploration programs and to encourage further innovation. Additional information about the Space Technology Hall of Fame®, including a complete list of inducted technologies, is available at

About Nomination and Judging

Each year, the Space Technology Hall of Fame® solicits nominations from industry and the public. After a thorough review process that establishes whether the technologies did, indeed, have their origins in space exploration and/or research, the qualifying technologies are reviewed and ranked by a distinguished panel of judges. The inducted technologies, individuals and organizations will be honored at a special reception and dinner during Space Symposium.

Space Technology Hall of Fame

Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame™

The Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame is a Space Foundation program created to honor the astronauts, aerospace executives, government officials, scholars and other public and private sector leaders who have contributed most significantly to Colorado’s space economy as one of the most important in the nation and world.

Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame

The award is presented to individuals who have personal or professional contributions in the space arena that span a decade or more, and who have lived or worked in Colorado to a significant extent.

Honorees are determined by a solicitation of nominations and review by a volunteer selection committee recruited each year by the Space Foundation. Honorees are inducted into the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame at an invitation-only gala dinner, to be held in Denver each autumn. Proceeds from the gala benefit Space Foundation education and outreach programs. More information is available at:


2020 George H. Born, Ph.D.
2020 Gen. Kevin P. Chilton, USAF (Ret.)
2020 G. Thomas Marsh
2018 Norman R. Augustine
2018 Col. James Benson "Jim" Irwin, USAF (Ret.), (Posthumous Award)
2018 Dr. Merri J. Sanchez
2016 Alan Stern, Ph.D.
2016 The Honorable Peter B. Teets
2016 General James V. Hartinger, USAF (Ret.) (Posthumous Award)
2016 Ronald M. Sega, Ph.D.
Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame

Athena Education Award

Established in 2021, the Athena Education Award recognizes the spirit, leadership and commitment of a steadfast partner to Space Foundation’s global education mission. The award honors their support in providing educational programs that build STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics) engagement and allow the space leaders of tomorrow to take their part in the ever-expanding global space economy.



2023 Northrop Grumman
2022 L3Harris
2020 Lockheed Martin
International Teacher Liaison Program