Space Foundation Press Releases

Allard and Ansari Featured Speakers at 24th National Space Symposium

Written by: developer

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 7, 2008) — The Honorable Wayne Allard, U.S. Senate and Ms. Anousheh Ansari, chief executive officer and co-founder, Prodea Systems, have confirmed their participation as featured speakers at the Space Foundation’s 24th National Space Symposium.  Gen. C. Robert Kehler, USAF, commander, Air Force Space Command will deliver remarks at a dinner honoring Space Foundation corporate supporters.  They join the list of previously confirmed speakers, which includes senior leaders from across the space industry.  Scheduled to take place April 7-10 at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, the symposium is the premier annual gathering of the global space community.

Allard will open the symposium’s three days of programming about the progress and future of the space industry with remarks from a congressional perspective at 8:40 a.m., on Tuesday, April 8.  Ansari, who visited the International Space Station as the first female private space explorer in 2006, will speak on Thursday morning, April 10.  Kehler will serve as the featured speaker for the Corporate Partnership Dinner, co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman on April 8.

The symposium brings together all sectors of space – civil, commercial, and national security – to highlight the accomplishments and address the opportunities and issues facing the space industry today. More than 7,500 participants from across the United States and many foreign countries are expected to attend the 24th National Space Symposium.  These individuals represent both the history and future of this $220 billion industry, include senior executive leadership from NASA, NOAA, and other civil space and government agencies; the commercial space and satellite broadcasting industry; the Department of Defense and military space commands; space entrepreneurs; universities and academia; and senior representatives from the global space industry.

Previously confirmed featured speakers include Lt. Gen. Michael A. Hamel, USAF, commander, Space and Missile Systems Center, Air Force Space Command; Mr. Jean-Yves LeGall, chairman & chief executive officer, Arianespace; Gen. Victor E. Renuart, USAF, commander, NORAD/USNORTHCOM;  Lt. Gen. William L. Shelton, USAF, commander, 14th Air Force (Air Forces Strategic-Space), Air Force Space Command and commander, Joint Functional Component Command for Space, U.S. Strategic Command; and The Honorable Michael W. Wynne, secretary of the Air Force.

Additional speakers, panelists, and moderators include Mr. Eric C. Anderson, president & chief executive officer, Space Adventures, Ltd.; The Honorable James M. Beggs, former NASA administrator and life director, Space Foundation; Ms. Nancy S. A. Colleton, president, Institute for Global Environmental Strategies;  Brig. Gen. Duane W. Deal, USAF, (Retired), director, national security space programs, Applied Physics Laboratory,  The Johns Hopkins University; The Honorable Robert Frosch, Ph.D., Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Mr. Michael Gass, president and chief executive officer, United Launch Alliance; Richard J. Gilbrech, Ph.D., associate administrator for Exploration Systems, NASA; Brig. Gen. John E. Hyten, USAF, director of plans & requirements, Air Force Space Command; Mr. James Oberg, noted space consultant and author; The Honorable Sean O’Keefe, Louisiana State University and A&M College; Brig. Gen. Robert “Tip” Osterhaler, USAF (Retired), president and chief executive officer, AMERICOM Government Services; Mr. William W. Parsons, Jr., director, Kennedy Space Center; Mr. Lon L. Rains, vice president, Editorial, Trade Publishing, Imaginova Corp. and editor, Space News; Mr. Chris Scolese, associate administrator, NASA Headquarters; Mr. William Shernit, president and chief executive officer, Intelsat General Corporation; Ms. Gwynne Shotwell, vice president, business development, SpaceX; Ms. Jill Smith, president and chief executive officer, DigitalGlobe, Inc.; Vice Adm. Richard H. Truly, USN (Retired); Brig. Gen. Simon P. “Pete” Worden, USAF (Retired), director, Ames Research Center.

Highlights of the 24th National Space Symposium include an extensive exhibit center representing more than 140 organizations and companies, co-sponsored by Lockheed Martin; a spectacular Opening Ceremony, co-sponsored by United Space Alliance; Opening Night Fireworks and Dessert Reception, co-sponsored by Raytheon; the presentation of the Space Foundation’s highest honor, the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, at a luncheon co-sponsored by Boeing; and the Space Technology Hall of Fame Dinner, co-sponsored by Space Florida.

Additional co-sponsors of the symposium are Analytical Graphics, Inc., ATK, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp., Cisco Systems, CSP Associates, Harris Corporation, Honeywell, Infinite Links, Intelsat General, ITT, Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne, and Stellar Solutions. Media partners for the 24th National Space Symposium are Aviation Week and Space News. Frontier Airlines is the official airline of the conference.

Online registration and more information, including an updated program agenda, confirmed speaker list, and exhibitor list, are available at

About the Space Foundation
Founded in 1983 and celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, the Space Foundation is an international nonprofit organization advancing space-related endeavors to inspire, enable, and propel humanity.  A leader in space awareness activities, major industry events, and educational enterprises that bring space into the classroom, the Space Foundation is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo.  It conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C., office, and has field representatives in Houston and Cape Canaveral, Fla.  Along with partnering organizations, the Space Foundation also conducts Strategic Space and Defense 2008, scheduled 6-8 October in Omaha, Neb.  For more information, visit