27th National Space Symposium Registration Open

Written by: developer

27th National Space Symposium Registration Open Excitement is building for the 27th National Space Symposium, which is set for April 11-14 at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo. The Space Foundation is offering a Super Early Bird rate with up to $500 in savings for industry attendees who register before Jan. 14, 2011. Exhibit sales are well underway and many corporate co-sponsorship slots are already filled.

Symposium details, including the initial agenda, speakers, the Boeing Exhibit Center, registration, accommodations ,awards, how to exhibit, how to become a corporate sponsor, and how to get the Super Early Bird Rate, can be found at It also features photos and videos from the 26th National Space Symposium  and provides comprehensive information for media wishing to attend and cover the event.

Extraordinary Agenda
Recognized as the premier gathering of the global space community, the 27th National Space Symposium features forums, panels, presentations, special dinners and luncheons and ample opportunity to hear from and network with the space community’s most influential leaders.

Last year’s event featured more than 100 top-level speakers from around the globe. Early confirmed speakers, panelists and moderators for this year’s event include:

  • William F. Ballhaus, Jr., Ph.D., Space Foundation chairman and former president and chief executive officer of The Aerospace Corporation
  • Jim Banke, moderator, Space Talk with Jim Banke
  • Wes Bush, chief executive officer and president, Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Col Robert D. Cabana, USMC (Retired), former commander, Space Shuttles Columbia and Endeavour
  • Gen. Bruce Carlson, USAF (Retired), director, National Reconnaissance Office
  • Col. Eileen Collins, USAF (Retired), former commander, Space Shuttles Columbia and Discovery
  • Nancy Conrad, chief executive officer and founder, Conrad Foundation
  • Maj. Gen. Robert S. Dickman, USAF (Retired), executive director, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
  • Paul L. Graziani, chief executive officer and co-founder, Analytical Graphics, Inc.  
  • Col. Fred Gregory, USAF (Retired) , former commander, Space Shuttles Atlantis and Discovery
  • Brig. Gen. John E. Hyten, USAF, director, space acquisition, Office of the Under Secretary of the Air Force
  • Iulia-Elena Jivănescu, research assistant, Romanian Space Agency
  • Jean-Yves Le Gall, chairman and chief executive officer, Arianespace, Inc.
  • James Maser, president, Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne
  • Col Brewster H. Shaw, Jr., USAF (Retired), former commander, Space Shuttles Columbia and Atlantis
  • Andrew Sukawaty, chairman and chief executive officer, Inmarsat
  • VADM Richard H. Truly, USN (Retired), former commander, Space Shuttle Challenger

More speakers will be announced as they are confirmed.

The 27th National Space Symposium will open Monday, April 11, with a full-day Cyber 1.1 event that builds on the success of last year’s sold-out cyberspace session. The 2011 Cyber 1.1 program will be held in The Broadmoor’s International Center, thus allowing for a larger audience and better access to the opening Symposium events. Cyber 1.1 requires separate registration and an additional fee; a substantial discount is available when registration is combined with National Space Symposium registration.

The Symposium officially kicks off Monday evening, April 11, with a spectacular Opening Ceremony, sponsored by Northrop Grumman. Then, the Boeing Exhibit Center, which occupies three halls this year, will officially open, followed by a sumptuous reception overlooking the lake and late night fireworks. To secure exhibit space, contact [email protected].

The 27th National Space Symposium will feature expanded New Generation Space Leaders programs for young, up-and-coming space professionals, age 35 and younger. It will repeat the popular “speed mentoring” session with top-level space leaders as well as special targeted sessions and receptions. New Generation speakers will also be integrated into the Symposium agenda.

Prestigious Awards
The 27th National Space Symposium includes presentation of prestigious Space Foundation awards including the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award; the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award; the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award; the John L. “Jack” Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration; the Space Achievement Award; and the Space Technology Hall of Fame® induction and dinner. Nominations are still being sought for the Shepard, Swigert and Space Achievement Awards.

Last year’s honorees included legendary astronaut Capt. John W. Young, USN (Retired), actor Leonard Nimoy, teacher Allen Robnett, the LCROSS Mission and the Hubble Space Telescope Repair Mission. The Space Technology Hall of Fame® inducted digital fly-by-wire technology and Eagle Eyes protective eyewear.

2011 honorees will be announced as they are selected.

Education Events
As an extension of our comprehensive space-based education programs, the Space Foundation will host Teacher Liaisons and selected local Front Range (Colo.) teachers and students for workshops, tours and “Audience with an Astronaut” sessions.

27th National Space Symposium Co-Sponsors
Confirmed co-sponsors of the 27th National Space Symposium include a.i. solutionsAnalytical Graphics, Inc. (AGI); ATKBall Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; The Boeing Company; Cisco Systems, Inc.; General Dynamics; Integral Systems; International Space University; Lockheed MartinNorthrop Grumman; Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne; RaytheonSpaceX; and United Space Alliance. Space News International and Aviation Week are official media partners. Additional sponsorship opportunities are available; interested companies should contact [email protected].


This article is part of Space Watch: October 2010 (Volume: 9, Issue: 10).