Space Foundation News

Oct. 31 is Deadline to Nominate for Three Distinguished Space Foundation Awards

Written by: developer

Oct. 31 is Deadline to Nominate for Three Distinguished Space Foundation AwardsCOLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Oct. 28, 2011) — The deadline is approaching to submit nominations for three Space Foundation annual awards in the categories of: space exploration; creating a positive public environment for space; and space achievement. The Space Foundation will award these honors at the 28th National Space Symposium, to be held April 16-19, 2012, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo.

The John L. “Jack” Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration
The John L. “Jack” Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration honors astronaut Jack Swigert, a Colorado native who served with retired U.S. Navy Captain James A. Lovell, Jr., and Fred Haise on the legendary Apollo 13 lunar mission, which was aborted en route to the Moon after the perilous rupture of an oxygen tank.

The award is given to an individual or organization for extraordinary accomplishment in the field of space exploration. To be eligible, the nominee must have either accomplished or completed the activity or completed the analysis of the activity during the 2010-2011 timeframe.

The Space Foundation, founded in 1983 in part to honor Swigert’s memory, created the Swigert Award in 2004 in tribute to his lasting legacy of space exploration. Previous recipients include NASA’s Phoenix Mars Lander Team, the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), The California Institute of Technology, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, NASA’s Mars Exploration Team from JPL, President George W. Bush and the Lunar CRater Observation and Sensing Satellite (LCROSS) mission team.

The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award
The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award’s namesake was an Academy Award® winning writer and producer, space advocate and Space Foundation Board member.

The award recognizes an individual or organization that has created a positive public environment for space and increased understanding, awareness and interest in space to a significant segment of the general populace, either through a specific activity or a body of work.

The Morrow Award has a long list of distinguished recipients: astronaut Eileen Collins, actor/director Tom Hanks, the X PRIZE Foundation, LIFE magazine, space artist Robert T. McCall, Gene Roddenberry and Majel Barrett Roddenberry, Popular Science magazine, the crew of Space Shuttle Mission STS-95, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Cable News Network (CNN), actor/director Leonard Nimoy and in 2011 three space journalists: Jay Barbree, Marcia Dunn and William Harwood.

To Submit Nominations
Submit nominations by Oct. 31, 2011, to [email protected], and include why the nominee should be considered as well as your own contact information.

Pictured: Space Foundation CEO Elliot Pulham and Board Chairman Dr. William F. Ballhaus, Jr., present awards during the 27th National Space Symposium.