Space Foundation News

Space Foundation Elects New Officers and Directors

Written by: developer

In January, the board of directors of the Space Foundation conducted its annual meeting, electing the following officers and directors:

  • Lon C. Levin, co-founder of XM Satellite Radio, and president of SkySevenVentures, was elected chairman of the board (pictured top)
  • ADM James O. Ellis, Jr., USN (Ret.), former commander, United States Strategic Command, and former president and chief executive officer, INPO, was elected vice chairman
  • Kathryn C. Thornton, Ph.D., University of Virginia professor, and former NASA astronaut, was elected secretary
  • Anita M. Antenucci, senior managing director, Houlihan Lokey, was re-elected as treasurer
  • The Honorable Patricia Grace Smith, former associate administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; principal, Patti Grace Smith Consulting, LLC, was elected Executive Committee Member-At-Large

“We thank all of our board members for their hard work and commitment to our mission,” said Elliot H. Pulham, Space Foundation board member and Chief Executive Officer. “We are especially grateful to those who are retiring from our board and appreciate their years of dedicated service.”

Retiring from the board is Martin C. Faga (pictured lower), former president and chief executive officer, The MITRE Corporation, and former director of the National Reconnaissance Office. Faga served on the board of directors from January 2007 through January 2014, and was chairman of the board from January 2012 through January 2014. Faga was elected to the lifetime position of director emeritus.

Also retiring from the board and named life directors of the Space Foundation:

  • The Honorable Barbara Barrett, president and chief executive officer, Triple Creek Guest Ranch; former ambassador to Finland. Barrett served as a director 2007-2008, resigning to become U.S. Ambassador to Finland. She was re-elected to the board in 2010, and served as corporate secretary 2010-2014
  • David Caddey, executive vice president, Space Missions Group for MacDonald, Dettwiler & Associates, Ltd., who served two terms from 2008-2014

Elected to second terms on the board of directors:

  • James G. Maser, vice president, Corporate Strategy & Development, GenCorp Inc.
  • Kay N. Sears, president, Intelsat General

Newly elected to the board of directors are:

  • Michael C. Gass, president and chief executive officer, United Launch Alliance
  • Fritz Merkle, Ph.D., member of the executive board, OHB System AG

Returning board members are:

  • Richard F. Ambrose, executive vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company
  • Wanda M. Austin, Ph.D., president and chief executive officer, The Aerospace Corporation
  • The Honorable Robert E. “Bud” Cramer, vice chairman, Capitol Hill Consulting
  • Lynn A. Dugle, president, Raytheon Intelligence and Information Systems (IIS)
  • John W. Elbon, vice president and general manager, The Boeing Company – Space Exploration
  • P.J. O’Rourke, author and political satirist
  • Ronald M. Sega, Ph.D., vice president and enterprise executive for energy, Colorado State University and The Ohio State University
  • Thomas E. Vice, corporate vice president and president, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems
  • The Honorable David J. Weldon, M.D., head of Dave Weldon Consulting; former U.S. representative from the State of Florida

This article is part of Space Watch: February 2014 (Volume: 13, Issue: 2).