Space Foundation News

2018 Colorado Space Heroes Announced

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

The Space Foundation created the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame in 2016 to inspire future space heroes, to celebrate those who have contributed most significantly to the development and success of Colorado's space economy and to highlight Colorado's role as a hub for all things space, including:

  • Ranking second in the nation for aerospace employment
  • Having the nation's second largest aerospace economy; and
  • Serving as the U.S. center for military space, with these military installations having an annual impact of $27 billion to the Colorado economy

The award is presented to individuals who have personal or professional contributions in the space arena that span a decade or more, and who have lived or worked in Colorado to a significant extent.

Inductees are determined by a solicitation of nominations and review by a volunteer selection committee recruited each year by the Space Foundation. Honorees are inducted into the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame at an invitation-only reception, to be held in Denver. Proceeds help benefit Space Foundation STEM education programs, inspiring students to reach for the stars.

These three 2018 inductees were recognized in a reception at the home of Colorado Governor John W. Hickenlooper on March 28:

  • Norman R. Augustine
  • Col. James Benson "Jim" Irwin, USAF (Ret.), (posthumously)
  • Dr. Merri J. Sanchez

The awards were presented by Space Foundation Chief Executive Officer Thomas E. Zelibor, pictured with honorees. Read bios of the inductees and learn more about the Colorado Space Heroes Hall of Fame here.