Space Foundation Press Releases

Impressive assembly of speakers participate at 19th National Space Symposium

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.(Mar. 6, 2003) — NASA officials, aerospace industry chiefs, military commanders and elected officials are among those scheduled to discuss the essential space industry issues at the 19th National Space Symposium, conducted by the Space Foundation and scheduled April 7-10 at The Broadmoor Hotel. The National Space Symposium is the only space-related conference to fully integrate all sectors of space – commercial, civil and national security – while attracting the most important and influential speakers and the national leadership of the space industry. Featured speakers include

  • The Honorable Samuel Bodman, Deputy Secretary of Commerce
  • The Honorable Edward C. “Pete” Aldridge, Jr., Under Secretary of Defense (Acquisition, Technology and Logistics), Department of Defense
  • The Honorable Dr. James G. Roche, Secretary of the Air Force
  • The Honorable Peter Teets, Under Secretary of the Air Force and Director, National Reconnaissance Office
  • The Honorable Dr. Ronald M. Sega, Director, Defense Research & Engineering, Department of Defense
  • The Honorable Sean O’Keefe, Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • ADM. James Ellis, USN, Commander, United States Strategic Command
  • Gen. Ed Eberhart, USAF, Commander in Chief, NORAD and Commander, United States Northern Command
  • Gen. John P. Jumper, USAF, Chief of Staff, U.S. Air Force
  • Gen. Lance W. Lord, USAF, Commander, Air Force Space Command

Additional confirmed speakers:

  • Dr. Buzz Aldrin, President, Starcraft Enterprises
  • Christine Anderson, Program Director, Military Satellite Communications Joint Program Office, Space and Missile Systems Center, Air Force Space Command
  • Dr. William Ballhaus, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer, The Aerospace Corporation
  • James Benson, President and Chief Executive Officer, SpaceDev
  • Maj. Gen. Roy D. Bridges, USAF (Ret), Director, NASA Kennedy Space Center
  • Linda Brill, Principal Director, Corporate Communications, The Aerospace Corporation
  • Wes Bush, Corporate Vice President, Northrop Grumman and President, Northrop Grumman Space Technology
  • Michael Butler, Managing Director & Chief Operating Officer, Inmarsat Ltd.
  • Michael Coats, Vice President, Advanced Space Transportation, Lockheed Martin Space and Strategic Missiles
  • Richard DalBello, Executive Director, Satellite Industry Association
  • Rudy F. deLeon, Senior Vice President, Washington, D.C. Operations, The Boeing Company
  • Alphonso Diaz, Director, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Gen. Howell M. Estes III, USAF (Ret), President, Howell Estes & Associates, Inc.
  • Brig. Gen. Steve Ferrell, USA, National Security Space Architect, Department of Defense
  • Warren Ferster, Deputy Editor, Space News
  • Carl Fischer, Vice President and General Manager, Space Systems, Northrop Grumman Corp.
  • RADM Rand Fisher, USN, Commander, SPAWAR Space Field Activity, Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command
  • Michael C. Gass, Vice President, Space Launch, Lockheed Martin Space & Strategic Missiles
  • Lt. Gen. Jefferson D. Howell, Jr., USMC (Ret), Director, NASA Johnson Space Center
  • G. Scott Hubbard, Director, NASA Ames Research Center
  • Michael D. Keebaugh, President, Intelligence & Information Systems, Raytheon Company
  • Jack R. Kelble, President, Raytheon Space & Airborne Systems
  • VADM Conrad C. Lautenbacher, Jr., USN (Ret), Undersecretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere, Department of Commerce and Administrator, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
  • Jean-Yves Le Gall, Chief Executive Officer, Arianespace
  • Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Ret), Vice President, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Michael Mott, Vice President and General Manager, The Boeing Company, NASA Systems
  • George K. Muellner, Senior Vice President, Air Force Systems, The Boeing Company
  • Lon Rains, Editor, Space News and Vice President, Washington Operations,
  • Richard Saunders, Principal, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Herbert F. Satterlee, President and Chief Executive Officer, DigitalGlobe
  • The Honorable Dr. Ronald M. Sega, Director, Defense Research & Engineering
  • Albert Smith, Executive Vice President, Lockheed Martin Space Systems
  • Courtney Stadd, Chief of Staff, NASA
  • Richard Stephens, Vice President and General Manager, Homeland Defense, The Boeing Company
  • Arthur Stephenson, Director, NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
  • Dr. Ronald D. Sugar, President and Chief Operating Officer, Northrop Grumman Corp.
  • David Taylor, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ball Aerospace & Technologies, Corp.
  • The Honorable Robert S. Walker, Chairman, Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates
  • Deborah Westphal, Partner, Toffler Associates

The 19th National Space Symposium’s opening ceremony is co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman Corporation; the exhibit center is sponsored by The Boeing Company; the media center and Space Career Fair for College Students Luncheon are both sponsored by Lockheed Martin Corporation; the 15th Anniversary Space Technology Hall of Fame Awards Dinner is co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman Space Technology; the Corporate Partnership Dinner is co-sponsored by Ball Aerospace & Technologies, Corp.; and the cyberspace center is sponsored by Oracle Corporation. Additional sponsors include Analytical Graphics, Inc., BAE Systems, Computer Sciences Corporation, Eastman Kodak Company, General Dynamics, Harris Corporation, Holland and Hart, Infinite Links, ITT Industries, ManTech, MicroSat Systems, Inc., Penwal Industries, Red Canyon Software, Inc., Space News/, SpaceVest, Stellar Solutions and Veridian. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Space Foundation and its partnering organizations will conduct the American Space Showcase at the Paris Air Show, June 15-22, 2003; and the International Space Symposium, Oct. 28-30, 2003, at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C. For more information on the Space Foundation visit