Space Foundation Press Releases

X PRIZE Foundation selected for Space Foundation's Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 16, 2005) — The Space Foundation announced today the selection of the X PRIZE Foundation as the recipient of the 2005 Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award. The award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to public awareness of, and support for, the exploration and development of space, will be presented to Dr. Peter H. Diamandis, founder, chairman and president of the X PRIZE Foundation and chairman and chief executive officer of the Zero-Gravity Corporation, on April 4 during the opening ceremony of the 21st National Space Symposium at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award honors the X PRIZE Foundation for its efforts in bringing the dream of space travel closer to reality for the general public. The mission of the X PRIZE Foundation is to create a future in which the general public will personally participate in space travel and its benefits. Diamandis and the X PRIZE Foundation organized the Ansari X PRIZE competition and awarded the $10 million Ansari X PRIZE to Mojave Aerospace Ventures, LLC, in October 2004 for its successful launch of SpaceShipOne, a privately funded spacecraft, to an altitude of 100 kilometers twice within five days. “The X PRIZE Foundation jumpstarted public interest in the dream of space travel and brought the dream of public space travel closer to reality. The Ansari X PRIZE competition was one of the most exciting news events of 2004, generating tremendous public interest in space,” said Space Foundation President and Chief Executive Officer Elliot G. Pulham. The Space Foundation annually presents the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award in memory of the late Douglas S. Morrow, renowned Academy Award winning writer and producer, space advocate, and former director of the Space Foundation, to an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to public awareness of space programs. Previous Morrow Award recipients include LIFE magazine, space artist Robert T. McCall, the late Gene Roddenberry and Majel Barrett Roddenberry, Popular Science magazine, and the crew of Space Shuttle Mission STS-95. More than 6,500 registrants, guests, speakers, exhibitors and media are expected to attend the 21st National Space Symposium, held April 4-7 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. Hosted by the Space Foundation, the symposium is the premier annual space industry conference anywhere in the world and features an integrated program of speakers and panels focused on civil, commercial and national security space issues. Confirmed featured speakers for the symposium include: Rep. Ken Calvert, chairman of the House Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics; Dr. John H. Marburger, III, science advisor to the president and director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President; Dr. Ronald M. Sega, director of defense research and engineering for the Department of Defense; Adm. Timothy J. Keating, commander of North American Aerospace Defense Command and U.S. Northern Command; Gen. James E. Cartwright, commander of U.S. Strategic Command; Gen. Lance W. Lord, commander of Air Force Space Command; and Lt. Gen. Brian A. Arnold, commander of the Space and Missile Systems Center. The symposium kicks off on Monday, April 4, with a spectacular opening ceremony, co-sponsored by The Boeing Company; opening night reception, co-sponsored by ITT Industries; and opening night dessert reception and fireworks, co-sponsored by General Dynamics. Sponsorship highlights include: the 34,000-square-foot exhibit center, co-sponsored by Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; media center, co-sponsored by Lockheed Martin; corporate partnership dinner, co-sponsored by Raytheon Company; corporate partnership reception, co-sponsored by the Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce; the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award luncheon, co-sponsored by the Colorado Space Coalition; and the Space Technology Hall of Fame Awards dinner, co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman. Additional co-sponsors include: Analytical Graphics, Inc., ATK Thiokol, Cisco Systems, Computer Sciences Corp., EcoQuest International, Florida Space Authority, Harris Corporation, Honeywell Aerospace, Infinite Links, Inmarsat,, Space News, Space Systems/Loral, SpaceVest, Stellar Solutions, and Swales Aerospace. For complete conference details and online registration, visit or call the Space Foundation toll-free in the United States and Canada at (800) 691-4000. About the Space Foundation Founded in 1983 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo., the Space Foundation is a national nonprofit organization that vigorously advances civil, commercial and national security space endeavors and educational excellence. The Space Foundation has offices in Washington, D.C., and Cape Canaveral, Fla. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Space Foundation annually conducts, along with its partnering organizations, Space at the Crossroads, set for May 18, 2005, in Washington, D.C., and Strategic Space 2005, scheduled Oct. 4-6, 2005, in Omaha, Neb. For more information about the Space Foundation, visit