Space Foundation Press Releases

Calvert, Udall, Feeney among Congressional leaders at 22nd National Space Symposium

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Feb. 23, 2006) — The Space Foundation announced today that Congressmen Ken Calvert, Mark Udall, and Thomas Feeney will participate at the 22nd National Space Symposium. The most senior leaders from civil, commercial, and national security space organizations attend the conference April 3-6, 2006, at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. The Honorable Ken Calvert, representing the 44th Congressional District of California, United States House of Representatives, and The Honorable Mark Udall, representing the Second Congressional District of Colorado, United States House of Representatives, will participate in a featured session Tuesday, April 4 at 9:45 a.m. Former congressman The Honorable Robert S. Walker, chairman, Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates, will serve as moderator. Calvert and Udall both serve on the House Science Committee. Calvert is chairman and Udall is the ranking member of the Space and Aeronautics Subcommittee, which oversees the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The Honorable Thomas Feeney, representing the 24th Congressional District of Florida, United States House of Representatives, will be a featured speaker at the symposium Wednesday, April 5 at 11:30 a.m. Feeney will discuss his recent visit to China as part of an American delegation. His address will complement the speech given earlier April 5 by Mr. Luo Ge, vice administrator, China National Space Administration (CNSA). The National Space Symposium annually brings together leaders from NASA and other space and government agencies, the commercial space and satellite broadcasting industry, research universities and academia, space tourism concerns, the Department of Defense, military space commands and the global space industry. Additional featured speakers include The Honorable Maria Cino, deputy secretary, United States Department of Transportation, The Honorable Dr. Michael Griffin, administrator, NASA; The Honorable Dr. Ronald M. Sega, under secretary of the Air Force; Ms. Marion C. Blakey, administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; The Honorable Shana Dale, deputy administrator, NASA; and Lt Gen C. Robert Kehler, USAF, deputy commander, United States Strategic Command. Highlights of the conference include the opening ceremony, co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman; the opening night reception, co-sponsored by ITT; the opening night dessert reception and fireworks, co-sponsored by General Dynamics; the Corporate Partnership reception, co-sponsored by the Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce; the Corporate Partnership dinner, co-sponsored by Raytheon Company; the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award luncheon, co-sponsored by the Colorado Space Coalition; the Space Technology Hall of Fame reception, co-sponsored by United Space Alliance; the Space Technology Hall of Fame dinner, co-sponsored by The Boeing Company; and the largest ever Lockheed Martin Exhibit Center. Additional co-sponsors include Analytical Graphics, Inc., ASRC Federal, ATK, BAE Systems, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp., Cisco Systems, Computer Sciences Corporation, Florida Space Authority, Harris Corporation, Inmarsat, MTC Technologies, Nortel Government Solutions, Space News, SpaceVest, Spherical Magic, Stellar Solutions, and Swales Aerospace. An updated program agenda, confirmed speaker list, exhibitor list, complete list of sponsors, and secure registration can be found online at About the Space Foundation Founded in 1983 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation is a national nonprofit organization that vigorously advances civil, commercial, and national security space endeavors and educational excellence. The Space Foundation has offices in Washington, D.C., and Cape Canaveral, Fla. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Space Foundation annually conducts, along with its partnering organizations, Inside Aerospace, April 24-25, 2006; Strategic Space and Defense, 10-12 Oct. 2006, in Omaha, Neb.; and Florida Space, Dec. 5-7, 2006, in Orlando, Fla. For more information, visit