Space Foundation Press Releases

Featured Speakers Confirmed for 24th National Space Symposium

Written by: developer

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 11, 2008) — Senior Air Force, industry, and NASA leadership have confirmed their participation at the 24th National Space Symposium.  The premier annual gathering of the global space community, the symposium brings together all sectors of space – civil, commercial, and national security – to highlight the accomplishments and address the opportunities and issues facing the space industry today.  The 24th National Space Symposium will take place April 7-10, 2008, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs.  Early confirmed speakers include Air Force Secretary The Honorable Michael W. Wynne and NORAD/USNORTHCOM Commander Gen. Victor E. Renuart, USAF, who will each address the conference. 


Industry keynotes will be given by Mr. James F. Albaugh, executive vice president, Boeing and president & chief executive officer, Boeing Integrated Defense Systems and Mr. Jean-Yves LeGall, chairman & chief executive officer, Arianespace.  Lt. Gen. Michael A. Hamel, USAF, commander, Space and Missile Systems Center, Air Force Space Command; Mr. James Oberg, noted space consultant and author; Lt. Gen. William L. Shelton, USAF, commander, 14th Air Force (Air Forces Strategic-Space), Air Force Space Command, and commander, Joint Functional Component Command for Space, U.S. Strategic Command; and Brig. Gen. Simon P. “Pete” Worden, USAF (Retired), center director, NASA Ames Research Center will lead panels.


This symposium’s theme “Our Expanding Universe…50 Years of Space Exploration” reflects our continued efforts and advancement in space while acknowledging how far the space industry has come in the last 50 years. The theme and accompanying artwork will be carried throughout the symposium including a program agenda featuring leaders from across the space industry. 


Additional early confirmed speakers include Mr. Eric C. Anderson, president & chief executive officer, Space Adventures, Ltd.; The Honorable James M. Beggs, former NASA administrator and life director, Space Foundation; Brig. Gen. Duane W. Deal, USAF (Retired), director, national security space programs, Applied Physics Laboratory,  The Johns Hopkins University; The Honorable Robert Frosch, Ph.D., professor, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; Richard J. Gilbrech, Ph.D., associate administrator for Exploration Systems, NASA; Brig. Gen. John E. Hyten, USAF, director of plans & requirements, Air Force Space Command; The Honorable Sean O’Keefe, chancellor, Louisiana State University and A&M College; Mr. William W. Parsons, Jr., center director, NASA Kennedy Space Center; Mr. Lon L. Rains, vice president, Editorial, Trade Publishing, Imaginova Corp. and editor, Space News; Mr. Chris Scolese, associate administrator, NASA Headquarters; and Vice Adm. Richard H. Truly, USN (Retired).


More than 7,500 registrants, guests, speakers, exhibitors, and media from across the United States and many foreign countries are expected to attend the 24th National Space Symposium.  Participants, who represent both the history and future of this $220 billion industry, include senior executive leadership from NASA, NOAA, and other civil space and government agencies; the commercial space and satellite broadcasting industry; the Department of Defense and military space commands; space entrepreneurs; universities and academia; and senior representatives from the global space industry.


Highlights of the 24th National Space Symposium also include the extensive Lockheed Martin Exhibit Center with more than 45,000 square feet of exhibit space representing more than 140 organizations and companies; a noteworthy program agenda; spectacular opening ceremony and awards; the presentation of the Space Foundation’s highest honor, the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award; and the 20th anniversary Space Technology Hall of Fame Dinner, honoring technologies, organizations, and individuals for transforming space technology into commercial products that improve life on Earth.


Co-sponsors of the symposium include ATK, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp., Boeing, Cisco Systems, CSP Associates, Harris Corporation, Honeywell, Infinite Links, Northrop Grumman, Pratt & Whitney Rocketdyne, Raytheon, Space Florida, and United Space Alliance. Media partners for the 24th National Space Symposium are Aviation Week, The New York Times and Space News. Frontier Airlines is the official airline of the conference.


Online registration and more information, including an updated program agenda, confirmed speaker list, and exhibitor list, are available at


About the Space Foundation

Founded in 1983 and celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, the Space Foundation is an international nonprofit organization advancing space-related endeavors to inspire, enable, and propel humanity.  A leader in space awareness activities, major industry events, and educational enterprises that bring space into the classroom, the Space Foundation is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo.  It conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C. office, and has field representatives in Houston and Cape Canaveral, Fla.  Along with partnering organizations, the Space Foundation also conducts Strategic Space and Defense 2008, scheduled 6-8 October in Omaha, Neb.  For more information, visit