Space Foundation Press Releases

Weldon, Smith Elected to Space Foundation's Board of Directors

Written by: developer

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 12, 2009) — The Board of Directors of the Space Foundation has elected The Honorable Dave Weldon, M.D., former congressman from Melbourne, Fla., and Ms. Patti Grace Smith, former associate administrator for Commercial Space Transportation for the Federal Aviation Administration from Washington, D.C., as members of the Board of Directors effective January 14, 2009.

Weldon recently retired from the U.S. House of Representatives after 14 years of service. While in Congress, he served on the Appropriations, Banking, Education and Workforce, Government Oversight and Reform, and Science Committees. His leadership in the House also included serving as vice chairman of the Science Subcommittee on Space and Aeronautics for eight years and serving as chairman of the Congressional Aerospace Caucus, which he co-founded. He was chairman of the Civil Service Subcommittee from 2001-2003 and has been a strong advocate for the nation’s space programs throughout his elected service.

As associate administrator for Commercial Space Transportation, Smith for 11 years headed the enterprise responsible for licensing, regulating, and promoting the U.S. commercial space transportation industry. Smith has more than 25 years of experience with the Federal Communications Commission, the Federal Aviation Administration, and the U.S. Department of Transportation. She is currently an aerospace consultant working with Virgin Galactic (The Virgin Group), CSSI, Inc., and a number of other aerospace companies.

After completing his term of service on the Space Foundation Board of Directors, Vice Adm. Richard H. Truly, USN (Retired), former NASA administrator; former director, National Renewable Energy Lab; and executive vice president, Midwest Research Institute, was elected to the honorary position of Life Director.

The Space Foundation Board of Directors continues to be led by its Executive Committee: Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Retired), Chairman of the Board; Elliot Pulham, Chief Executive Officer; William F. Ballhaus, Jr., Ph.D., Vice Chairman; Mr. Martin C. Faga, Secretary; and Mr. Lon C. Levin, president, SkySevenVentures, Treasurer.

Board members continuing to serve are:

  • Ms. Anita M. Antenucci, managing director, Houlihan Lokey
  • Mr. Robert A. Bednarek, president and chief executive officer, SES AMERICOM-NEW SKIES
  • Mr. David Caddey, executive vice president, Space Missions Group, MacDonald, Dettwiler & Associates Ltd.
  • Capt. Frederick H. Hauck, USN (Retired) retired NASA astronaut and former president and chief executive officer, AXA Space, Inc.
  • Mr. Marc L. Holtzman, former president, Denver University
  • Alexis C. Livanos, Ph.D., corporate vice president, Northrop Grumman, and president, Space Technology Sector, Northrop Grumman
  • Ms. Joanne M. Maguire, executive vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company
  • Mr. Elon Musk, chairman and chief executive officer, SpaceX
  • The Honorable Charles Robb, former U.S. Senator and former governor of Virginia
  • Col. Brewster H. Shaw, Jr., USAF (Retired), vice president and general manager, Boeing Space Exploration
  • Mr. David L. Taylor, president and chief executive officer, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.
  • Ms. Heidi R. Wood, managing director and senior equity analyst in aerospace, defense, and defense electronics, Morgan Stanley

Photographs are available upon request. Contact Andrea Wermuth at [email protected].

About the Space Foundation
Founded in 1983, the Space Foundation is an international nonprofit organization advancing space-related endeavors to inspire, enable, and propel humanity. A leader in space awareness activities, major industry events, and educational enterprises that bring space into the classroom, the Space Foundation is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo. It conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C., office and has field representatives in Houston, Texas, and Cape Canaveral, Fla. The Space Foundation’s 25th National Space Symposium, the premier annual gathering of the global space community, will take place March 30 – April 2, 2009, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs. Along with partnering organizations, the Space Foundation also conducts Space Business Forum: New York on June 4, 2009, in New York, N.Y., and Strategic Space and Defense 2009 from 6-8 October in Omaha, Neb. For more information, visit