Space Foundation Press Releases

Dr. William Ballhaus, Jr., Elected Chairman of the Space Foundation Board of Directors

Written by: developer

Dr. William Ballhaus, Jr., Elected Chairman of the Space Foundation Board of DirectorsCOLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 20, 2010) — Several significant changes were made to the Space Foundation’s Board of Directors at the organization’s annual meeting today in Washington, D.C.:

  • William F. Ballhaus, Jr., Ph.D., retired president and chief executive officer of The Aerospace Corporation, was elected to serve a two-year term as the chairman;
  • Outgoing Chairman Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, USAF (Retired), former vice chief of staff of the United States Air Force, former commander of Air Force Space Command, and retired partner with Booz Allen Hamilton, was made a director emeritus;
  • Martin C. Faga, former president and chief executive officer of MITRE Corp. and former director of the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO), was elected to a two-year term as vice chairman;
  • The Honorable Barbara Barrett, president and chief executive officer of Triple Creek Ranch and former U.S. Ambassador to Finland, was elected to a two-year term as secretary of the Board;
  • Adm. James O. Ellis, Jr., USN (Retired), president and chief executive officer of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations and former commander of the U.S. Strategic Command, has joined the Board for a three-year term; and
  • Kathryn Thornton, Ph.D., director of the University of Virginia Center for Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Education and former NASA astronaut, has joined the Board for a three-year term.

In addition, the following Board members are continuing their terms:

  • Lon C. Levin, president of SkySevenVentures, treasurer;
  • Anita M. Antenucci, managing director of Houlihan Lokey;
  • Robert A. Bednarek, president and chief executive officer of SES-AMERICOM NEW SKIES;
  • David Caddey, executive vice president, space missions group for MacDonald, Dettwiler & Associates, Ltd.;
  • Capt. Frederick H. Hauk, USN (Retired), former president of AXA Space and former NASA astronaut;
  • Alexis C. Livanos, Ph.D., corporate vice president and chief technology officer of Northrop Grumman;
  • Joanne M. Maguire, executive vice president of Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company;
  • Elliot H. Pulham, chief executive officer of the Space Foundation;
  • The Honorable Charles Robb, former U.S. senator and former governor of the State of Virginia;
  • Col. Brewster Shaw, Jr., USAF (Retired), vice president and general manager of Boeing Space and Exploration Systems and former NASA astronaut;
  • The Honorable Patricia Grace Smith, former assistant administrator of the Federal Aviation Administration;
  • David L. Taylor, president and chief executive officer of Ball Aerospace Technologies Corp.;
  • Dave Weldon, M.D., head of Dave Weldon Consulting and former U.S. representative from the State of Florida; and
  • Heidi R. Wood, managing director and senior equity analyst – aerospace, defense & defense electronics for Morgan Stanley.

Marc L. Holtzman, former president of the University of Denver, has retired from the Board after serving for six years.

“The Space Foundation is fortunate to have a Board with such depth and breadth of experience as policy-makers, industry and military leaders, financial experts, astronauts, and educators,” said Space Foundation Chief Executive Officer Elliot Pulham. “We’re grateful for the many, many contributions Gen. Moorman has made as chairman and look forward to continuing to work with Dr. Ballhaus in his new role as chairman. We also thank Marc Holtzman for his many years of service to the Board.”

About the Space Foundation
The Space Foundation is an international, nonprofit organization and the foremost advocate for all sectors of the space industry – civil, commercial, military and intelligence. Founded in 1983, the Space Foundation is a leader in space awareness activities, educational programs that bring space into the classroom, and major industry events, all in support of its mission “to advance space-related endeavors to inspire, enable, and propel humanity.” The Space Foundation annually hosts the National Space Symposium, the premier gathering of the global space community, at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs. An expert in all aspects of the global space industry, the Space Foundation publishes The Space Report: The Authoritative Guide to Global Space Activity and provides three indices that track daily performance of the space industry. Through its Space Certification and Space Technology Hall of Fame programs, the Space Foundation recognizes space-based technologies and innovations that have been adapted to improve life on Earth. Headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C., office and has field representatives in Houston, Texas, and Cape Canaveral, Fla. For more information, visit Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn, and read about the latest space news and Space Foundation activities in the current issue of Space Watch.