Space Foundation Press Releases

Space Foundation Names Winners of 2011 Student Art Contest

Written by: developer

Space Foundation Names Winners of 2011 Student Art ContestCOLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Mar. 31, 2011) — New to the 27th National Space Symposium this year is a student art contest co-sponsored by ARES Corporation, Fisher Space Pen Co. and the Space Foundation. Students in pre-kindergarten through 12th grade were invited to submit original artwork depicting the theme, “Human Space Travel in the Year 2020,” resulting in entries from more than 150 students in 13 states.

Entries were judged in four grade categories — preK-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12 — and three style categories — drawing, painting and multimedia. All winners will be recognized at a special ceremony on April 13 at the 27th National Space Symposium at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo., where former NASA astronaut Capt. Robert L. Curbeam, Jr., USN (Retired) will announce grand prize winners selected from among the three first place winners for each age category.

Each winning artist receives a Fisher Space Pen, a ribbon and an invitation to attend the award presentation. Each Grand Prize winner will also receive an art kit from ARES Corporation. Winning entries will be displayed at the Symposium outside of the new ARES Education Auditorium in the Boeing Exhibit Center Lower Level.

Judges were selected from the Colorado Springs art community and comprised:

  • Corey Drieth, assistant professor of painting and drawing, University of Colorado
  • Nancy Fraser-Coco, adjunct professor of art history and humanities, Pikes Peak Community College
  • Sam Gappmayer, president and chief executive officer, Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center
  • Blake Milteer, museum director and curator of American art, Colorado Springs Fine Arts Center

The first-, second- and third-place winners, organized by state and school, are:

East Elementary, Cullman
Emilee Strout, third place, preK-2 painting

Air Academy High School, Colorado Springs
Olivia Arens, first place, grades 9-12 multimedia

Cheyenne Mountain Elementary, Colorado Springs
Jackson Hawker, first place, preK-2 painting

The Classical Academy Central Campus, Colorado Springs
Lauren Baiza, second place, grades 3-5 multimedia
John Chandler Bolin, third place, grades 3-5 drawing
Delaney Krieger, first place, grades 3-5 multimedia
Audra Frieden, first place, grades 3-5 painting
Bryce George, first place, grades 6-8 drawing
Avery Nelson, first place, grades 6-8 multimedia

Discovery Canyon Campus, Colorado Springs
Team of Ian Arko, Christina Ostovic, Alexandra Palmer, Michael Robinson, third place, grades 6-8, multimedia

Eagleview Middle School, Colorado Springs
Toni Troje, third place, grades 6-8 painting

Grant Elementary, Colorado Springs
Hayden Bosler, third place, grades 3-5 multimedia

Greenwood School, Denver
Dimitra Theard, first place, grades 3-5 drawing

Howbert Elementary, Colorado Springs
Hannah Marquez, second place, preK-2 drawing
Landon Vidmar, third place, preK-2 drawing

Jack Swigert Aerospace Academy, Colorado Springs
Hector Medrano, second place, grades 6-8 drawing

Mitchell High School, Colorado Springs
Carlos Ortiz, second place, grades 9-12 drawing

Otero Elementary, Colorado Springs
Anthony Twiggs, second place, grades 3-5 painting

Pinon Valley Elementary, Colorado Springs
Kelly St. John, second place, grades 3-5 drawing

Peyton Elementary, Peyton
Emilee Ullom, second place, grades 6-8 multimedia

Sand Creek High School, Colorado Springs:
Audry Ancell, third place, grades 9-12 drawing
Kadre Disnute, second place, grades 9-12 painting
Colleen Fannin, first place, grades 9-12 painting
Dillon Irish, first place, grades 9-12 drawing
Jin Kim, third place, grades 9-12 painting
Joann Wong, second place, grades 9-12 multimedia

Vera Scott Elementary, Colorado Springs
Serina Bartile, second place, preK-2 multimedia
Jillian Buckmiller, third place, grades preK-2 multimedia

Arthur Middleton Elementary, Waldorf
Joelle Starling, third place, grades 3-5 painting
Piccowaxen Middle School, Newburg
Matthew Fan, second place, grades 6-8 painting

Farnsworth Aerospace School, St. Paul
Suney Yang, first place, grades 6-8 painting

Bellevue Elementary, Bellevue
Olivia Decker
, first place, pre-K-2 multimedia
Joseph Matter
, third place, grades 6-8 drawing

Arthur S. May Elementary, Poughkeepsie
Emma Fusco, first place, preK-2 drawing
Megan Palestro, second place, preK-2 painting

Weslaco East High School, Weslaco
Vilma Flores, third place, grades 9-12 multimedia

About the 27th National Space Symposium
The Space Foundation’s National Space Symposium is the premier gathering of the global space community and includes an education component each year, with workshops, tours and events for teachers and students.

27th National Space Symposium Co-Sponsors
Confirmed co-sponsors include: ADD STAFFa.i. solutionsAnalytical Graphics, Inc. (AGI)ARES Corporation; ArianespaceATK; Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; Blue Ridge Networks; The Boeing Company; Booz Allen HamiltonCisco Systems, Inc.EuroconsultFisher Space Pen Co.; GMVGeneral Dynamics; IBM; ILA Berlin Air ShowIntegral SystemsIntelsat General CorporationInternational Academy of Astronautics (IAA)International Space University (ISU); IridiumLockheed MartinMaui Economic Development Board (MEDB); MoogNorthrop GrummanParadigm; Pratt & Whitney RocketdyneQinetiQ; Raytheon; SAIC; SES World Skies; SI Corporation, Inc.; Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC); SpaceSystems/LoralSpaceX; Stellar SolutionsSwedish Space Corporation (SSC)United Launch Alliance; and United Space Alliance. Aviation Week; Defense Systems; and Space News International are official media partners. Additional sponsorship opportunities are available; interested companies should contact [email protected].

About the Space Foundation
The Space Foundation is
a global, nonprofit organization and the foremost advocate for all sectors of the space industry – civil, commercial, military and intelligence. Founded in 1983, the Space Foundation is a leader in space awareness activities, educational programs that bring space into the classroom, and major industry events, including the National Space Symposium, all in support of its mission “to advance space-related endeavors to inspire, enable and propel humanity.” An expert in all aspects of the global space industry, the Space Foundation publishes The Space Report: The Authoritative Guide to Global Space Activity and provides three indices that track daily performance of the space industry. Through its Space Certification and Space Technology Hall of Fame® programs, the Space Foundation recognizes space-based technologies and innovations that have been adapted to improve life on Earth. Headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C., office and has field representatives in Houston, Texas, and Cape Canaveral, Fla. For more information, visit Follow us on TwitterFacebook and LinkedIn, and read about the latest space news and Space Foundation activities in Space Watch.

Pictured: Audra Frieden’s first-place-winning painting in the grades 3-5 category. Audra is a student at The Classical Academy Central Campus in Colorado Springs.