Space Symposium

U.S. Air Force GPS Team Will Receive Space Achievement Award

Written by: developer

The Space Foundation has selected the U.S. Air Force GPS Team as the recipient of its 2014 Space Achievement Award. The award will be presented on May 19 during the opening ceremony of the Space Foundation’s 30th Space Symposium at The Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA.
“The 2014 Space Achievement Award is to be presented to the GPS System Program Office, for 20 years of excellence in changing the way the world navigates and communicates through the development, launch, modernization and continuous improvement of the U.S. Air Force Global Positioning System,” said Space Foundation Chief Executive Officer Elliot Pulham.

The Space Achievement Award is one of the Space Foundation’s top awards, recognizing individuals or organizations for space achievement, breakthrough space technology or critical milestones in the evolution of space exploration and development.  

Past recipients have included the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), the Hubble Space Telescope Repair Team and China’s Shenzhou 7 Manned Space Flight Team, among others.  

About the Space Symposium
Widely recognized as the premier global space conference, the Space Foundation’s 30th Space Symposium will be held May 19-22 at The Broadmoor Hotel, and offers panels and presentations covering all aspects of space. More than 100 top civil and military space leaders from the U.S. and abroad are slated to speak, including:

  • Brig. Gen. Yves Arnaud, FAF, Commander, Joint Space Command, French Ministry of Defense
  • Charles F. Bolden, Jr., NASA Administrator
  • Lt. Gen. James R. Clapper, USAF, (Ret.), Director of National Intelligence
  • Matthew J. Desch, Chief Executive Officer, Iridium Communications, Inc.
  • Michael C. Gass, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Launch Alliance (ULA)
  • Yasushi Horikawa, Ph.D., Chairman, United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space
  • Roger A. Krone, President of Network and Space Systems, The Boeing Company
  • Letitia A. Long, Director, National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
  • Walter J. Natynczyk, (General, CA, Ret.), President, Canadian Space Agency
  • Dr. Ger Nieuwpoort, Director,  Netherlands Space Office
  • Gen. William L. Shelton, USAF, Commander, Air Force Space Command
  • Deborah Westphal, Managing Director, Toffler Associates

Register Now for Space Symposium and Cyber 1.4
The 30th Space Symposium is preceded by a full-day cyberspace conference, Cyber 1.4 on Monday, May 19, at The Broadmoor Hotel. Congressman Lamar Smith (R-TX), chairman of the United States House Committee on Science, Space and Technology, will give the Cyber 1.4 keynote speech. See more details, and register for both the Symposium and Cyber 1.4 at

The Space Symposium officially kicks off Monday evening, May 19, with a spectacular opening ceremony, co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman. Other co-sponsors include: a.i. solutionsAeroflex Microelectronic Solutions; Aerojet RocketdyneAirbus Group, Inc.ArianespaceATKBall Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; Booz Allen HamiltonColorado Space Business Roundtable (CSBR); Intelsat General CorporationLockheed MartinMetiSpace Technologies, Inc.Millennium Engineering and Integration CompanyMoog Inc.Orbital Technologies Corporation (ORBITEC); PAERaytheonScitor CorporationSES Government SolutionsSpace Generation Advisory Council (SGAC); SpaceXSpincraftSSLStellar Solutions,Inc.The Boeing CompanyThe SI OrganizationUnited Launch Alliance; and Universities Space Research Association (USRA)Aviation WeekSatNews Publishers and SpaceNews are media partners.

This article is part of Space Watch: March 2014 (Volume: 13, Issue: 3).