International Affairs

Leaders of Six Space Agencies to be Featured at 30th Space Symposium

Written by: developer

Leaders from six of the world’s space agencies will be featured speakers at this year’s 30th Space Symposium, to be held May 19-22 at the five-star, five-diamond Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA.

The Thursday morning panel “Space Agency Leaders” will feature (pictured at right, from top):

  • Robert Lightfoot, Associate Administrator, National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Francisco Mendieta-Jimenez, Ph.D., General Director, Mexican Space Agency
  • Walter J. Natynczyk (General, CF, Ret.), President, Canadian Space Agency
  • Ger Nieuwpoort, Ph.D., Director, Netherlands Space Office
  • David Parker, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, United Kingdom Space Agency
  • Marius-Ioan Piso, Ph.D., President and Chief Executive Officer, Romanian Space Agency (ROSA)

The panel will be moderated by Yasushi Horikawa, Ph.D., Chairman, United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (pictured at right, bottom).

More than 20 countries will be represented at this year’s 30th Space Symposium, with panel discussions of the most pressing global space issues, and a roster of leading decision makers as featured speakers.

Other Symposium panels and sessions of special interest include:

  • “MilSpace and International Collaboration: Partnering for Collective Security”
  • “International Collaboration: The Industry Looks Globally”
  • “Space Development in the Americas: Region in Focus”

See the complete agenda and list of speakers at

The Space Symposium will attract more than 9,000 participants, and feature exhibits of the world’s latest space technology and services. To honor its global guests, the Space Foundation will host a by-invitation international reception on Wednesday, May 21, providing an opportunity for additional networking.

Register Now
The Space Symposium website provides information in 71 languages, and includes the complete agenda and speakers list, plus registration information. Visit

a.i. solutionsAeroflex Microelectronic Solutions; Aerojet RocketdyneAirbus Group, Inc.Analytical Graphics, Inc. (AGI); ArianespaceATKBall Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; Booz Allen HamiltonColorado Space Business Roundtable (CSBR); Colorado Space CoalitionEaglePicher Technologies, LLCEl Pomar FoundationEuroconsultExelisFedExFisher Space PenGovernment Executive Media GroupHigh Impact CreativeHolland & Hart LLPInmarsatIntelsat General CorporationLaunchspaceLockheed MartinMaui Economic Development Board (MEDB); MetiSpace Technologies, Inc.Millennium Engineering and Integration CompanyMoog Inc.Müller-BBM VibroAkustik Systeme, Inc.National Science Teachers AssociationNorthrop GrummanOrbital Sciences CorporationOrbital Technologies Corporation (ORBITEC); PAEPulsed Harmonix; RaytheonScitor CorporationSecure World FoundationSES Government Solutions; SLS and Orion Industry Team; Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC); SpaceX; SpincraftSSLStellar Solutions,Inc.The Boeing CompanyThe SI OrganizationUnited Launch Alliance; and Universities Space Research Association (USRA)Aviation WeekSatNews Publishers; SpaceNews and TechBriefs Media Group are media partners.

This article is part of Space Watch: May 2014 (Volume: 13, Issue: 5).