Space Symposium

Gov. Hickenlooper to Sign Space Flight Bill at Symposium and Speak at Space Warfighters Luncheon

Written by: developer

Colorado Governor John Hickenlooper will participate in two events at this month's 30th Space Symposium in Colorado Springs. The Space Foundation's Space Symposium is an international space conference to be held May 19-22 at The Broadmoor, and is expected to draw 9,000 participants from 20 countries.

At 11:40 a.m. on May 20, the Governor plans to sign a bill in the Symposium's Boeing Exhibit Center at the Colorado Space Coalition booth. The bill is HB14-1178 "Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Space Flight Property" by Representatives Mark Ferrandino and Brian DelGrosso and Senators Mary Hodge and Kevin Grantham.

The Governor will also speak at the Symposium's Space Warfighters Luncheon on May 20, to be held at The Broadmoor's Colorado Hall beginning at 12:15 p.m.

Featured speaker at the luncheon will be Lt. Gen. John W. "Jay" Raymond, USAF, Commander, 14th Air Force (Air Forces Strategic), Air Force Space Command; and Commander, Joint Functional Component Command for Space, U.S. Strategic Command, Vandenberg Air Force Base, Calif.

The Space Warfighters Luncheon is held annually during the Space Symposium to honor the men and women who serve in the military around the world, and highlights the role space assets play in providing security and solutions for keeping troops safe, informed and effective. The luncheon is co-sponsored by United Launch Alliance (ULA), with corporate host Michael C. Gass, President and Chief Executive Officer, ULA.

Gov. Hickenlooper, a self-described "recovering geologist now on loan to public service," was elected Colorado Governor in 2010, after serving eight years as Mayor of Denver.

See information about tickets to the Space Warfighters Luncheon, plus registration details for the 30th Space Symposium at

Pictured above: Governor Hickenlooper speaking at last year's Space Symposium.

a.i. solutionsAeroflex Microelectronic Solutions; Aerojet RocketdyneAirbus Group, Inc.; Analytical Graphics, Inc. (AGI); ArianespaceATKBall Aerospace & Technologies Corp.; Booz Allen HamiltonColorado Space Business Roundtable (CSBR); Colorado Space Coalition; EaglePicher Technologies, LLCEl Pomar FoundationEuroconsultExelisFedEx; Fisher Space PenGovernment Executive Media Group; High Impact Creative; Holland & Hart LLP; InmarsatIntelsat General Corporation; LaunchspaceLockheed Martin; Maui Economic Development Board (MEDB); MetiSpace Technologies, Inc.Millennium Engineering and Integration CompanyMoog Inc.Müller-BBM VibroAkustik Systeme, Inc.; National Science Teachers AssociationNorthrop Grumman; Orbital Sciences CorporationOrbital Technologies Corporation (ORBITEC); PAE; Pulsed HarmonixRaytheonScitor Corporation; Secure World Foundation; SES Government Solutions; SLS and Orion Industry Team; Space Generation Advisory Council (SGAC); SpaceXSpincraftSSLStellar Solutions,Inc.; The Boeing CompanyThe SI OrganizationUnited Launch Alliance; and Universities Space Research Association (USRA)Aviation WeekSatNews Publishers; SpaceNews and TechBriefs Media Group are media partners.

This article is part of Space Watch: May 2014 Special Edition - 30th Space Symposium (Volume: 13, Issue: 5.1).