Report from Washington, D.C.

112th Congress Opens with 96 New Members

Written by: developer

112th Congress Opens with 96 New Members Jan. 5 marked the opening of the 112th Congress, which welcomed 96 new members to the House of Representatives and 16 to the Senate.

Florida’s 24th district, home to NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, is now represented by Rep. Sandra Adams (R-FL). Also, Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL) is Florida’s new junior senator. Alabama’s 5th district, home to NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center and the Army’s missile command at Redstone Arsenal, is now represented by Rep. Morris “Mo” Brooks (R-AL).

Significant committee assigments include:

House Science, Space and Technology Committee, formerly the Science and Technology Committee:
Rep. Ralph M. Hall (R-TX), chair
Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), ranking member

House Armed Services Committee:
Rep. Howard “Buck” McKeon (R-CA), chair
Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA), ranking member

House Appropriations Committee:
Rep. Harold “Hal” Rogers (R-KY), chair
Rep. Norman “Norm” Dicks (D-WA), ranking member

House Homeland Security Committee:
Rep. Peter King (R-NY), chair
Rep. Bennie Thompson (D-MS), ranking member

House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence:
Rep. Mike Rogers (R-MI), chair
Rep. C.A. “Dutch” Ruppersberger (D-MD), ranking member

Democrats retained their majority in the Senate and leadership on space-related committees is expected to remain unchanged from the 111th Congress.


This article is part of Space Watch: February 2011 (Volume: 10, Issue: 2).

Posted in Report from Washington, D.C.