Space Foundation Press Releases

America's Military Astronauts to be Recognized at Special Lunch by Space Foundation

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.(Mar. 19, 2002) — From the days of Mercury 7, through present time, many of the nation’s pilots, commanders, and mission specialists have been drawn from the ranks of the U.S. Armed Forces. In recognition of their distinguished service, NASA, Space Command, and the Space Foundation will honor all current and former military astronauts at `A Salute to America’s Military Astronauts` Luncheon, scheduled April 10 during the 18th National Space Symposium at the Broadmoor Hotel. Gen. Ed Eberhart, USAF, Commander in Chief NORAD/U.S. Space Command, and Commander, Air Force Space Command will deliver a special tribute at the ceremonial luncheon, sponsored by Northrop Grumman. The Discovery Science Channel will premier a new video featuring archival footage of many of the honorees, and the United States Air Force Band of the Rockies, Blue Steel, will salute the astronauts with a special patriotic musical performance. Notable astronauts attending are Dr. Buzz Aldrin (Col., USAF, Ret.), Gemini 12, Apollo 11; Dr. Guion Bluford (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-8, STS-61A, STS-39, STS-53; Eugene Cernan (Capt., USN, Ret.), Gemini 9, Apollo 10, Apollo 17; and Richard Truly (Vice Adm., USN, Ret.), Enterprise Test Pilot, STS-2, STS-8, and former NASA Administrator. Other astronauts who have already confirmed their attendance include:

  • Lt. Col. Andrew Allen, USMC, STS-46, STS-62, STS-75
  • Maj. Eric Boe, USAF, awaiting mission assignment
  • Richard Covey (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-51I. STS-26, STS-38, STS-61
  • Lt. Col. Alvin Drew, USAF, awaiting mission assignment
  • Brian Duffy (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-45, STS-57, STS-72, STS-92
  • Dale Gardner (Capt., USN, Ret.), STS-8, STS-51A
  • Ronald Grabe (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-51, STS-30, STS-42, STS-57
  • Henry Hartsfield, Jr. (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-4, STS41D, STS-61A
  • Col. Susan Helms, USAF, STS-54, STS-64, STS-78, STS-101, ISS-2
  • Terrance Henricks (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-44, STS-55, STS-70, STS-78
  • Lt. Col. Tim Kopra, USA, awaiting mission assignment
  • Donald McMonagle (Col. USAF, Ret.), STS-39, STS-54, STS-66
  • Carl Meade (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-38, STS-50, STS-64
  • William Readdy (Capt., U.S. Naval Reserve, Ret.), STS-42, STS-51, STS-79
  • Kenneth Reightler, Jr. (Capt., USN, Ret.), STS-48, STS-60
  • Richard Searfoss (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-58, STS-76, STS-90
  • Brewster Shaw, Jr. (Col., USAF, Ret.), STS-9, STS-61B, STS-28
  • Loren Shriver (Col., USAF, Ret.), STA-51C, STS-31, STS-46
  • Cmdr. Pierre Thuot, USN, STS-36, STS-49, STS-62
  • Maj. Terry Virts, USAF, awaiting mission assignment
  • Lt. Cmdr. Neil Woodward, III, USN, awaiting mission assignment

Known as the only conference in the space industry which fully integrates the civil, national security and commercial space sectors, the National Space Symposium takes place April 8-11 in Colorado Springs. The astronaut luncheon is open to symposium registrants, media and the general public. Visit or call 1-800-691-4000 to RSVP for the luncheon or get more information. The Space Foundation is a national non-profit organization advancing space awareness and education. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Foundation conducts the International Space Symposium, which is scheduled to take place in Toulouse, France, September 10-13, 2002.