Space Foundation Press Releases

Space Foundation Accepting Nominations for 2004 General James E. Hill Award

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Aug. 4, 2003) — Nominations for the 2004 presentation of the Space Foundation’s highest individual honor are being accepted now through Oct. 17, 2003. The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is presented in memory of the Foundation’s long-time chairman, the late General James E. Hill, USAF (Retired). The Space Foundation Board of Directors selects the honoree, who will then be recognized at the 20th Anniversary National Space Symposium, March 29-April 1, 2004, during a special luncheon sponsored by Spectrum Astro. The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare or betterment of humankind through the exploration, development and use of space, or the use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity. The award is presented to an individual whose personal or professional contributions in the space arena span a minimum of 20 years. Any person whose distinguished lifetime achievement through the exploration, development or use of space – whether technical, managerial, academic, scientific, private, public, political, governmental, journalistic, artistic, astronautic or cosmonautic – has either had space as its primary emphasis or focus, or has been carried out in such manner, is widely recognized as a “champion” of space. Previous recipients of the Gen. James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award include Apollo 13 commander CAPT James A. Lovell, Jr., USN (Retired), president of Lovell Communications and former NASA astronaut, and Norman R. Augustine, Chairman Emeritus of Lockheed Martin and professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton University. Award recipients are honored with both a massive glass sculpture and an individual award, both created by artists Joy Day and B.E. Johnson. Eligible persons must exemplify the Foundation’s mission by meeting three of the following specific criteria: publication or public speaking; public relations; interdisciplinary activity; humanitarian service; and Space Foundation service. The mission of the Space Foundation is “To vigorously advance and support civil, commercial and national security space endeavors and educational excellence.” Any person may nominate a candidate for the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, but individuals may not nominate themselves. The nomination should be in the form of a letter, no more than two pages in length, addressed to Elliot G. Pulham, president and chief executive officer of the Space Foundation. The 20th National Space Symposium is sponsored by Analytical Graphics, Inc., BAE Systems, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp., The Boeing Company, Computer Sciences Corporation, Eastman Kodak Company, Harris Corporation, Hewlett Packard, Honeywell Space Systems, Infinite Links, Inmarsat, Lockheed Martin Corporation, Northrop Grumman, Oracle Corporation, Penwal Industries, Raytheon Company,, Space News, Spectrum Astro, Stellar Solutions, and SpaceVest. In addition to the National Space Symposium, the Foundation and its partners will conduct Strategic Space 2003, Sept. 2-4 in Omaha, Neb., and the Space at the Crossroads Conference, February 18, 2004, in Washington, D.C. For more information on Space Foundation programs, visit or call 1-800-691-4000.