Space Foundation Press Releases

Space Foundation announces Board of Directors Executive Committee

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 26, 2006) — The Board of Directors of the Space Foundation announced today election of new officers and directors of the corporation.

The Honorable Robert S. Walker, chairman, Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates, was elected to a two-year term as Chairman of the Board. Congressman Walker had served a two-year term as Vice Chairman.

Gen Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Retired), vice president, Booz Allen Hamilton, was elected to a two-year term as Vice Chairman, having previously served as secretary. Dr. William F. Ballhaus, Jr., president and chief executive officer, The Aerospace Corporation, was elected to a two-year term as Secretary. Dr. Jaleh Daie, managing partner, Aurora Equity, LLC, continues to serve as Treasurer.

Mr. John Higginbotham, founder and chairman, SpaceVest, retires from active board service after completing a two-year term as chairman, and was elected Director Emeritus. Also retiring from active board service were Mr. Richard P. “Dick” MacLeod, who retains the title of President Emeritus, and CNN’s Mr. Lou Dobbs.

The board also elected three new members – CAPT Frederick Hauck, USN (Retired), The Honorable Charles Robb, and Ms. Heidi Wood. Hauck is a former NASA astronaut and the former president and chief executive officer of AXA Space, Inc. Robb, former U.S. Senator and former governor of Virginia, serves on the President’s Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board. He also co-chaired the Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction. Wood is managing director at Morgan Stanley and the senior equity analyst in aerospace, defense, and defense electronics. She also served as a presidential appointee on the Commission for the Future of the U.S. Aerospace Industry.

In addition, several board members were elected to serve a second term: Ms. Joanne Maguire, vice president and deputy, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company; VADM Richard H. Truly, USN (Retired), former director, National Renewable Energy Lab, and executive vice president, Midwest Research Institute; and Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, director, Hayden Planetarium, Rose Center for Earth and Space, American Museum of Natural History. Board members serve for three-year terms.

Members continuing to serve on the board include:

  • Mr. Robert A. Bednarek, executive vice president of corporate development, SES GLOBAL
  • Dr. Guion S. Bluford, Jr., vice president and general manager, Major Programs Sector, Northrop Grumman Information Technologies
  • Gen Howell M. Estes, III, USAF (Retired), president, Howell Estes & Associates, Inc.
  • Mr. William MacDonald “Mac” Evans, former president, Canadian Space Agency
  • Mr. Paul Graziani, president and chief executive officer, Analytical Graphics, Inc.
  • Mr. Lon C. Levin, co-founder and senior vice president, XM Satellite Radio; vice president, Mobile Satellite Ventures
  • Dr. Alexis C. Livanos, corporate vice president and president, Space Technology Sector, Northrop Grumman
  • Gen. John L. “Pete” Piotrowski, USAF (Retired), vice president, Science Applications International Corporation

Photographs are available upon request.

About the Space Foundation

Founded in 1983 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, the Space Foundation is a national nonprofit organization that vigorously advances civil, commercial, and national security space endeavors and educational excellence. The Space Foundation has offices in Washington, D.C., and Cape Canaveral, Fla. The Space Foundation’s signature event, the National Space Symposium, is scheduled for April 3-6, 2006, at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo. Along with partnering organizations, the Space Foundation also conducts Inside Aerospace, April 24-25, 2006, in Washington, D.C.; Strategic Space and Defense, 10-12 Oct. 2006 in Omaha, Neb.; and Florida Space. For more information, visit