Space Symposium

NASA Astronaut Scott Kelly and Russian Cosmonaut Mikhail Kornienko to be Honored at 33rd Space Symposium

Written by: developer

When they returned to Earth on March 1, 2016, (March 2 Kazakhstan time) NASA astronaut Scott Kelly and Russian cosmonaut Mikhail Kornienko had spent nearly a year in space. Their record-setting 342 days in space is expected to help pave the way for human spaceflight to Mars and other distant destinations.

For that accomplishment, Kelly and Kornienko will receive the Space Foundation’s 2017 Space Achievement Award, which annually recognizes individuals or organizations for critical milestones in the evolution of space exploration and development.
Scott Kelly’s identical twin brother Mark Kelly is a former NASA astronaut, providing scientists with a unique opportunity to study the effects of Scott’s time in space and its impact on his body, compared with that of Mark, who remained on Earth. These studies will provide crucial information in preparing humans physiologically and psychologically for a long-duration manned mission to Mars.

The 2017 Space Achievement Award will be presented on April 3 during the opening ceremony of the 33rd Space Symposium at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA. The opening ceremony is co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman, and features presentation of top Space Foundation awards.

Past recipients of the Space Achievement Award have included:
2016 SpaceX
2015 X-37B OTV Team
2014 U.S. Air Force GPS Team
2013 NOAA
2012 Junichiro Kawaguchi, Ph.D., JAXA
2011 SpaceX and Telecom sans Frontieres
2010 Hubble Space Telescope Repair Mission Team

About the Space Symposium
To be held April 3-6, the Space Symposium is the annual premier gathering of all sectors of global space leadership. Click here for the agenda, tracks and speakers.

Co-sponsors include: AECOM; a.i. solutions; Airbus Safran Launchers; AGI; ASRC Federal; BAE Systems; Ball Aerospace; Blue Origin; Boeing; Booz Allen Hamilton; The Broadmoor; Colorado Space Coalition; Cosmic AES; Dynetics; El Pomar Foundation; Euroconsult; Eutelsat; Griffin Communications Group; Harris; i3 Electronics; Inmarsat; ISPCS; L3 Technologies; Lockheed Martin; Maui Economic Development Board; Northrop Grumman; Orbital Systems; RBC Signals; Raytheon; Secure World Foundation; SES Government Solutions; SpaceX; SpincraftStellar Solutions; Stratasys; Tesat Spacecom; United Launch Alliance (ULA); USRA; ViaSat; X-1R Corporation. Our media partners are Aviation Week; ROOM; Satnews; Space News.

This article is part of Space Watch: April 2017 (Volume: 16, Issue: 4).