Corporate Membership

Evinrude / BRP

Evinrude Outboard Motors is an American company that builds a major brand of outboard motors for boats. Founded by Ole Evinrude in MilwaukeeWisconsin in 1907, it was formerly owned by the publicly traded Outboard Marine Corporation (OMC) since 1935, but OMC filed for bankruptcy in 2000.

In 2001 Bombardier acquired the Evinrude and Johnson Outboards brands; the FICHT technology was reengineered into E-TEC direct injection. This improved fuel efficiency and reduced emissions, oil usage, noise levels, and maintenance needs. This is due in part by a pin point oiling system which only applies oil to the necessary components, unlike the original two stroke motors. Evinrude E-TEC was the first outboard engine technology to win the American Environmental Protection Agency 2004 Clean Air Excellence Award, which recognizes low emission levels.[1]

In 2018, Evinrude / BRP, along with NASA Marshall Space Flight Center, was an inducted organization into the prestigious Space Technology Hall of Fame for use of the MSFC-398 Aluminum Alloy technology in the E-Tec line of outboard motor.

Today all Evinrude motors are built and assembled in Sturtevant, Wisconsin, south of Milwaukee.