Space Foundation Press Releases

Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., Elected Chairman of the Board of the Space Foundation

Written by: developer

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Jan. 7, 2008) — The board of directors of the Space Foundation has unanimously elected Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Retired), vice president of Booz Allen Hamilton, to a two-year term as chairman of the board. Moorman succeeds The Honorable Robert S. Walker, chairman of Wexler & Walker Public Policy Associates, who completes his term as Space Foundation chairman and was elected director emeritus. William F. Ballhaus, Jr., Ph.D., recently retired president of The Aerospace Corporation, was elected to a two-year term as vice chairman of the board and chairman of the nominating committee. Ms. Barbara M. Barrett, President of Triple Creek Ranch, was elected secretary.

The board of directors also elected four new members: Ms. Anita M. Antenucci, managing director, Houlihan Lokey Howard & Zukin (Washington, D.C.); Mr. David N. Caddey, executive vice president, Space Missions Group, MacDonald Dettwiler & Associates, Ltd. (Richmond, British Columbia, Canada); former Colorado Lt. Gov. Jane E. Norton (Denver, Colo.); and Mr. David L. Taylor, President & CEO, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp.  (Boulder, Colo.). All were elected to three-year terms. All terms of service are effective as of January 31, 2008 

In addition, three members of the board have completed their terms of service. Gen. Howell M. Estes, III, USAF (Retired), president Howell Estes & Associates, Inc.; Mr. William MacDonald “Mac” Evans, former president, Canadian Space Agency; and Mr. Paul Graziani, president and chief executive officer, Analytical Graphics, Inc., were elected to the honorary positions of life director. 

“The Space Foundation has continued to prosper and grow in service to our nation, our industry, and to teachers and students around the world, thanks to the tremendous leadership of Congressman Walker, General Estes, Mr. Evans, Mr. Graziani and all of our board members,” said Elliot G. Pulham, president and chief executive officer. “As we salute our departing board members for their years of outstanding service, we are mindful of the standards they have set, and of our good fortune in retaining and attracting the strongest board of directors possible to lead us into the future.”

“We are especially pleased to welcome our new board members, who represent the most senior space industry leadership from Wall Street to Colorado to Canada,” Pulham said. “Our board represents a vast wealth of experience and expertise across all sectors of this $220 billion industry and underscores the Space Foundation’s commitment to advancing space endeavors and strengthening all sectors of the industry through our industry services, education, space awareness, and research and analysis programs.”

Antenucci is a managing director for Houlihan Lokey Howard & Zukin with general responsibility for three industry groups, including Aerospace-Defense-Government (ADG). She has 14 years of experience in middle-market mergers, acquisitions, private placements, and valuation. Antenucci is frequently cited by financial and trade press on the impact of industry restructuring and procurement reform, and was named Woman Deal Maker of the Year by M&A Advisor in 2005.

Caddey currently serves as executive vice president, Space Missions Group, for special projects at MDA for MacDonald Dettwiler & Associates, Ltd., where, since joining the company in 1986, he has held a number of senior positions including president and executive vice president and general manager of the Space Missions Group. Prior to joining MacDonald Dettwiler, Caddey spent 19 years with the Canadian Air Force. He is director of the H.R. MacMillan Space Centre in Vancouver and director and past chair of the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada.

Norton, former Lt. Gov. of Colorado, is the first executive director of the Denver Police Foundation. As Lt. Gov., Norton served as Colorado’s delegate to the Aerospace States Association, chaired the National Lieutenant Governors Association, and co-chaired the Colorado Space Coalition, among many other responsibilities. She is a former regional director of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and former member of the Colorado House of Representatives.

Taylor is president and chief executive officer of Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp., where, since 2002, he has led the company’s expansion into new markets. Previously, he held a variety of positions with the company, including chief operating officer and vice president of Commercial Space Operations.  

In addition to the newly elected officers and directors, the following members of the board were elected to second three-year terms:

  • Mr. Lon C. Levin, chief strategic officer, t/Space, who also continues to serve as treasurer and as chairman of the Finance Committee.
  • Mr. Robert A. Bednarek, president and chief executive officer, SES New Skies
  • Alexis C. Livanos, Ph.D., corporate vice president, Northrop Grumman and president, Space Technology Sector, Northrop Grumman

Other industry leaders who continue their terms as members of the Space Foundation board of directors include

  • Mr. Martin C. Faga, former president and chief executive officer of MITRE Corporation and former director of the National Reconnaissance Office
  • Capt. Frederick H. Hauck, USN (Retired), retired NASA astronaut and former president and chief executive officer of AXA Space, Inc.
  • Mr. Marc L. Holtzman, former president, Denver University
  • Ms. Joanne M. Maguire, executive vice president, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company
  • Mr. Elon Musk, chairman and chief executive officer, SpaceX
  • The Honorable Charles Robb, former U.S. Senator and former governor of Virginia
  • Col. Brewster H. Shaw, Jr., USAF (Retired), vice president and general manager, Boeing Space Exploration
  • Vice Adm. Richard H. Truly, USN (Retired), former director, National Renewable Energy Lab, and executive vice president, Midwest Research Institute
  • Ms. Heidi R. Wood, managing director and senior equity analyst in aerospace, defense, and defense electronics, Morgan Stanely
Photographs are available upon request.

About the Space Foundation

Founded in 1983 and celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, the Space Foundation is an international nonprofit organization advancing space-related endeavors to inspire, enable and propel humanity. A leader in space awareness activities, major industry events, and educational enterprises that bring space into the classroom, the Space Foundation is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo. It conducts research and analysis and government affairs activities from its Washington, D.C. office, and has field representatives in Houston and Cape Canaveral, Fla. The 24th National Space Symposium, the premier annual gathering of the global space community, will take place April 7-10 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. Along with partnering organizations, the Space Foundation also conducts Strategic Space and Defense 2008, from 6-8 October in Omaha, Neb. For more information, visit