Space Certification Program

Written by: Space Foundation Editorial Team

Space Foundation announces the 2009 Space Technology Hall of Fame panel of judges

The Space Foundation, in cooperation with NASA, established the Space Technology Hall of Fame® in 1988 to increase public awareness of the benefits resulting from space exploration programs and to encourage further innovation. Nominations for the Space Technology Hall of Fame are annually solicited from NASA, the Departments of Defense, Commerce, and Transportation, aerospace and technology companies, and the general public. The Space Foundation screens the nominees which are then evaluated by a panel of judges.  This year's judges include

  • Mr. Paul Graziani, President & Chief Executive Officer, Analytical Graphics, Inc.
  • Mr. John B. Higginbotham, Chief Executive Officer, Integral Systems, Inc.
  • Mr. Ramin Khadem, Chief Financial Officer, Inmarsat
  • Mr. Daniel Lockney, Editor, NASA Spinoff Magazine
  • Mr. Mike Mason, Marketing Director, Tempur-Pedic, Inc.
  • The Honorable Barbara O'Brien, Lt. Governor, State of Colorado
  • Mr. Joseph Rouge, Director, National Security Space Office

This prestigious group received nominations for review last month. The judges will score the nominations based on five criteria to decide the next group of individual and organizational inductees into the Space Technology Hall of Fame at the 25th National Space Symposium.

  • Economic Benefit - The economic activity, successful selling product, or new growing company resulting from the technology.
  • Public/Private/Partnership Investment - The level of partnership in the technology development between the government and private sector or the significant commitment and investment by the private sector to transform the space technology to the market version.
  • Public Awareness Factor - The technology's public appeal and promotional value for highlighting the benefits of space.
  • Societal Benefit Factor - The technology's important benefits for a significant number of the general public.
  • Longevity - The length of the technology's commercial life.

Outlast Technologies goes exclusive

In addition to being a long-time Space Certification Program partner, a 2005 Space Technology Hall of Fame inductee, and Space Foundation Corporate Patron, Outlast Technologies is now a Space Certification Program category exclusive member in the phase change material technology sector.

Outlast phase change technology was originally developed for NASA for use in space suits and gloves to help protect astronauts from the extreme temperature fluctuations encountered in space. Today, more than 200 premium-quality brands around the world use Outlast Adaptive Comfort technology in their products including Adidas, Boeri, Bugatti, Burton, Gold Toe, K2, Lands' End, National Geographic, New Balance, Nordica, Phenix, ProShield, Rukka, Serta, SuperFeet, Swany, TempraKON, Teva, Timberland, The North Face, Wacoal, Wamsutta, and Wigwam.


This article is part of Space Watch: December 2008 (Volume: 7, Issue: 12).