Margaret Baguio is 2016 Recipient of the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award

Written by: developer

Margaret Baguio, Senior Education Outreach Coordinator for NASA Texas Space Grant Consortium, has been selected by the Astronauts Memorial Foundation (AMF), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Space Foundation as recipient of the 2016 Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award.

The award is given annually in recognition of creative and innovative use of technology by K-12 educators, or district-level education personnel.

The award will be presented during the Space Symposium’s opening ceremony on April 11 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colo., USA. The ceremony is co-sponsored by Northrop Grumman, and the award presentation will be followed with a by-invitation reception co-hosted by the Astronauts Memorial Foundation.

Baguio’s application was supported by letters of recommendation from other educators who cited her many STEM-focused programs, developed for educators as well as students in Texas.

About the Award
Alan Shepard, one of the nation’s original seven Mercury astronauts, was the first American to fly in space, one of only 12 humans who have walked on the Moon and a former AMF board member. The award named for him recognizes excellence, quality and innovation in the development and application of technology in the classroom, or to the professional development of teachers. The application period for the award is announced by the Space Foundation each fall, with application packets due in January.

About the Space Symposium
The Space Foundation’s Space Symposium is the annual gathering of all sectors of the global space community. The 32nd Space Symposium will be held April 11-14 at The Broadmoor, and will include programs for select educators and students. See more about the Symposium at

This article is part of Space Watch: March 2016 (Volume: 15, Issue: 3).