Space Foundation News

Submit Nominations Now for the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award

Written by: developer

The Space Foundation is currently accepting nominations for its highest honor — the General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award, presented annually in honor of its late, long-time chairman, retired U.S. Air Force General James E. Hill, at a special luncheon held during the Space Symposium.

The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare or betterment of humankind through the exploration, development and use of space, or the use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity. Nominations are solicited throughout the space industry worldwide, with the Space Foundation’s Board of Directors selecting the honoree.

Recent recipients included:

  • 2016 VADM Richard H. Truly, USN (Ret.)
  • 2015 Jean-Jacques Dordain
  • 2014 A. Thomas Young
  • 2013 Neil A. Armstrong and Sally K. Ride, Ph.D.
  • 2012 Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Ret.)
  • 2011 Charles Elachi, Ph.D.
  • 2010 CAPT John Young, USN (Ret.)

See complete information about criteria and how to submit a nomination here. The deadline for nominations is Sept, 30, 2016.

This article is part of Space Watch: August 2016 (Volume: 15, Issue: 8).

Posted in Space Foundation News