Space Symposium

Innovation Panelists Offer Unique Approaches to Space Solutions

Written by: developer

For its Space Symposium panel discussion on innovation, the Space Foundation is bringing together thought leaders, entrepreneurs and investors to offer unique approaches to space solutions.

The 33rd Space Symposium will be held April 3-6 at The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, attracting space leaders from dozens of countries around the world. Moderator for the “Innovation” panel is Kira Blackwell, Program Executive, Office of the Chief Technologist, NASA Headquarters.

“Innovation is critical to developing the breakthrough technologies we’ll need to reach our space exploration goals, but we don’t have to tackle these challenges alone. There are many remarkable solutions already being developed in the commercial market by non-aerospace innovators that also may provide solutions to our technical challenges,” said Kira Blackwell, Innovation program executive in the Office of the Chief Technologist at NASA Headquarters. “The Innovation panel at the Space Symposium brings together a good balance of innovators, industry leaders, investors and government experts to highlight a unique initiative NASA has developed to foster innovation in a non-traditional way.”

The “Innovation” panelists are:

  • Salvatore T. “Tory” Bruno, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Launch Alliance (ULA)
  • Marilyn J. Bruno, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Aequor, Inc.
  • Riccardo Di Blasio, IT Executive and Investor
  • Peter M. Hughes, Chief Technologist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
  • Jose H. Ocasio-Christian, Chief Executive Officer, Caelus Partners, LLC
  • David Sinclair, Ph.D., Professor, Harvard Medical School
  • Anup Singh, Co-Founder & Chief Science Officer, InnaMed

This year’s Space Symposium is on track to be the most dynamic coming-together of international space collaboration, insight and accomplishment in its 33-year history, with participation by thousands of government, military and industry decision makers from spacefaring nations around the world.

Symposium speakers and panels can be found on the expanded agenda, and see all of the tracks, including Tech Track, Cyber 1.7 Classified, Space Classified and the New Generation Space Leader programs, here. A discount is available on standard industry registration if paid by March 3, 2017.

Co-sponsors for the 33rd Space Symposium include: AGI; ASRC Federal; Ball Aerospace; Blue Origin; Boeing; Booz Allen Hamilton; Colorado Space Coalition; Dynetics; El Pomar Foundation; Harris; Inmarsat; L3 Technologies; Lockheed Martin; Northrop Grumman; Raytheon; Secure World Foundation; SES Government Solutions; Stellar Solutions; SpaceX; Spincraft; Tesat Spacecom; United Launch Alliance (ULA).

This article is part of Space Watch: February 2017 (Volume: 16, Issue: 2).